PDA

View Full Version : Getting an adventure started

Drakiin Magis
2009-01-01, 02:33 AM
Hello people. i am new to dming and i have what seems to be a very crazy group of people. 2 crazy 1 emo 1 other crazy 2 serious. i think i have had 16 opportunities to get them together and play but only 1 time when we all sat down and played. it was quite fun and entertaining. i have snacks and drinks provided. i still can't get them all at once. "i dont wanna play right now", "probably in an hour", "i'm too tired now", "Hang on after this level", and "how did you get into my house??" are some of the major things i have to deal with. i need some advice on how to motivate them. any advice? please and thanks.

-Drakiin Magis, Hopeful GM

Salty
2009-01-01, 11:00 AM
You may have to consider whether or not you want those players in your group. They could be your friends, but maybe you should make a point to be with them out of game.

Basically, you may want to consider keeping your gaming and personal lives seperate.

Mastikator
2009-01-01, 11:24 AM
Tell each of them that they are ruining it for everyone else when they don't show up and if they refuse to commit that you'll simply exclude them, also, mention that it's not personal, just in case they are... well... just in case.

You might need some new players.
I always find it important to mention that I only want serious and committed roleplayers when I fish for people. It signals serious and committed roleplayers who have been burned that I am likely okay, and it scares some of the non-wanted people away.

valadil
2009-01-01, 02:03 PM
Be willing to play without some people. Tell them game is happening saturday. If 3 or 4 show up, just play with them.

Narmoth
2009-01-01, 04:28 PM
Be willing to play without some people. Tell them game is happening saturday. If 3 or 4 show up, just play with them.

Exactly. Also, if you're new at dm-ing, 2 or 3 players will be hard enough to keep track of.