PDA

View Full Version : DnD 3.5e Wild Shape and Animal Companion questions

theonesin
2009-01-24, 05:02 PM
My first question is about Wild Shape. My druid has finally reached level 9 and can take Aberration Wild Shape to turn into said creatures. I'm looking for recommendations for useful forms for this. Feel free to recommend strong non-Aberrations as well.

And my second question is about animal companions. If I'm level 9 and have the Natural Bond feat, does that mean I can get an animal companion up to 12HD? If a pet dies, and I get a new one, does it start out at the same level as my druid? And when it levels, does it get feats like a PC? Sorry about all of these questions, but this is my first time playing a Druid, and no one in the campaign I'm playing knows much else about them either.

Frog Dragon
2009-01-24, 05:05 PM
Druids cannot wildshape into aberrations. Where did you get that from? And about the animal companion you must do the 24 hour ritual to get a new one and it will be at the same effective druid level

theonesin
2009-01-24, 05:18 PM
I got the Aberration Wild Shape feat from the book, Lords of Madness.

RS14
2009-01-24, 05:20 PM
Druids cannot wildshape into aberrations.
Aberration Wild Shape lets you wildshape into aberrations.
The druid's handbook (http://forums.gleemax.com/showthread.php?t=733400) has a list of aberrations that are useful, and I'm just going to copy it.
* Level 5
o Rust Monster - Useful for sabotage, removing metal walls, etc.
o Tako (OA) - Seven arms for weapons or Improved Grab/Constrict, aquatic, Multidexterity bonus feat.
* Level 8
o Cloaker - Area-effect moan, and goofy Engulf ability.
o Ineffable Horror (Und) - Flight, grapple and blood drain.
o Rukanyr (FF) - High AC at 7hd, one stunning attack, 3 poisoning attacks, 6 other claw attacks
o Mimic - adhesive (auto-grapple, can trap weapons)
* Level 9
o Stonesinger (MM3) - High nat armour, burrow+climb speed, poison bite+6 claws, decent Str