PDA

View Full Version : Multiclassing in 3rd Ed.

Rakim Avishot
2009-01-29, 09:50 PM
I am quite new to D&D 3.5e, since my dad only plays 2nd, and I have a few questions about multiclassing:
1) If you multiclass, can you gain ranks in your original class later. ex: Rogue/Barbarian 4/2 gains a level. Is this possible: Rogue/Barbarian 5/2?
2) What about prestige classes? ex: Rogue/Shadowdancer 7/3 levels into Rogue/Shadowdancer 8/3?
3) What is "multiclass note" in prestige classes?
Please excuse my inexperience.:smallbiggrin:

Found answer to number three, so nevermind.

Nohwl
2009-01-29, 09:53 PM
1. yes
2. yes
3. i dont know

Siosilvar
2009-01-29, 09:57 PM
Remember that there's a 20% experience penalty per class two or more levels apart from another. Your race's "favored class" is excluded from this.

EDIT: As are PrCs.

Rakim Avishot
2009-01-29, 10:00 PM
K. Thanks a lot you guys.

Draz74
2009-01-30, 01:51 AM
1. yes
2. yes

With some exceptions (Monks and Paladins).

Eldariel
2009-01-30, 05:51 AM
Also, unlike in AD&D, there's no limitation on using your abilities; regardless of their choice, all abilities are a fair game with no XP penalties for a multiclassed character.

kamikasei
2009-01-30, 06:05 AM
Essentially: every time you gain a level you can take it in any class you like, except that some have prerequisites (e.g. you have to be lawful to be a paladin, chaotic to be a barbarian, you have to have various feats or skills or abilities to take a PrC, etc.). Many combinations will be absolutely terrible but a great many are possible. Example: you can be a rogue 1/fighter 2/barbarian 1/ranger 3/wizard 2/sorceror 3/bard 1/cleric 7. You'll just suck at all of those things.

There are exceptions, which will be specifically mentioned in the class description.

Aquillion
2009-01-30, 06:25 AM