PDA

View Full Version : Thoughts on Deadlands?

Lord_Xaedien
2009-02-11, 03:16 PM
I have a gaming group that traditionally plays 3.5/4e, and normally makes use of the "Iron Kingdoms" campaign setting from Privateer Press. I have little experience as a DM, but i am looking to start a campaign in a setting that is easy for a new storyteller. I am thinking of using Deadlands Reloaded as my campaign setting, since it seems to have a decently well established world, and I know that savage worlds is pretty user friendly. I was just hoping some more experienced DM's who has used the setting (reloaded or not) could share their thoughts, both from a rules and storytelling standpoint.

Townopolis
2009-02-11, 04:02 PM
As a setting, it's a ton of fun--so long as your players enjoy the wild west at all. Between jackalopes and mad scientists and normal wild-westyness, it's easy to immerse yourself in the world. Just be sure to watch some good westerns while preparing the campaign. I recommend Tombstone and Silverado.

I'd also recommend using the original deadlands system. It uses playing cards and poker chips, which is novel and pretty awesome. There's a strong element of luck when you generate your character, a little more than when you're rolling for stats, and I don't normally like that. However, the system rules themselves are fun enough that I'm usually able to overlook that.

Just remember, save your chips for when you really need them, since they're also what you convert into XP. Also, always upgrade your stat die type before number of dice.

(there was this one time, though, when this one player got #d12 for most of her stats... that sucked.)

Tengu_temp
2009-02-11, 05:56 PM
I'll second using the original system - the DND version gutted the game from almost everything that made it fun and unique in the first place.

Ascension
2009-02-11, 08:10 PM