PDA

View Full Version : [3.5] Help me make a Eberron Monk

Rowan Arquest
2009-02-26, 10:12 AM
K, I am currently in a PbP game on the forum, and I am playing as a human Monk dedicated to Dol Dorn. The game just started, he is level 2 and I can take Monastic Training next level. The question is, what class do I pick to make a fun, but NOT overpowered character. I have never done a monk before and I want to have a good first experience. PHBII is banned. Complete series is open, but I dont have the books, Expanded Psionics is all clear, but I currently don't have a power point reserve and if I want to take Monastic Training, I cant get Wild Talent until level 6, but Soulknife does solve that problem, since Wild Talent is a class ability at first level. Eberron is of course safe to use as well

now to the ability scores:

STR 16
DEX 15
CON 12
INT 11 :smallfrown:
WIS 14
CHA 12

...the board roller was being really mean to everyone in the thread. So if anyone has some good ideas, I would love to hear them.

PinkysBrain
2009-02-26, 11:44 AM
Monastic training is a waste of a feat ... just get all the monk levels you want and say goodbye to the monk class.

Soulknife is a bad class and a worse dip class ... not to mention that even if you ignore that the mind blade is a bad weapon it's certainly not a monk weapon!

You could simply go Monk 6/Psionic Fist X (Fist of Zuoken in the XPH). If you ever make it to 16 you wouldn't even need monastic training to get back into monk either, it allows free multiclassing with the monk class.

Draz74
2009-02-26, 11:50 AM
Monk 6/Psionic Fist X (Fist of Zuoken in the XPH).

I support this. It's one of the better Monk builds (and trust me, you're not in any danger of becoming overpowered), and psionic powers are fun too. If you do this, though, I'd switch your highest ability score into Wisdom if possible.

Fishy
2009-02-26, 12:04 PM
Just out of curiosity, what were your first two Monk Bonus Feats?