PDA

View Full Version : So, how about that 7th Sea...?

Ascension
2009-03-05, 03:05 AM
I'm probably about to join a game of 7th Sea (to be played over AIM) and, well, I'm completely new to the system. I have had the barest minimum of an introduction to the setting, but I have yet to even see the rules (this will obviously be rectified before the game begins, but it hasn't happened yet). So, uhh... is there anything I should know heading into this? You know, the 7th Sea equivalent of the standard 3.5 "Don't take Toughness, Monks are underpowered, Druids rock, two-hand beats sword-and-board" intro? What would you tell a total n00b (for that is what I am)?

Kiero
2009-03-05, 05:22 AM
It's not really a big deal, but the setting makes no sense. You've got Caribbean-style piracy, only with no Caribbean-analogue. They did try to rectify that later, but it still kind of missed the point.

Satyr
2009-03-05, 05:42 AM
I always thought it was more based on Dumas and classical musqueteer literature instead of pirates. The setting is still terrible, but not because of the non-emphasis of pirates. It is terrible because it extremely ovious copies the early modern Europe, but replace it with dull and one dimensional stereotypes of the real countries and their inhabitants. I never got the point why anyone could be interested in such a stale and trite remake of a much more interesting, flexible and colorful background, in this case Europe during the era of Absolutism.