PDA

View Full Version : shadows in 4E?

Kol Korran
2009-03-05, 01:19 PM
hey all. i'm new to DMing in 4E, and am preparing for a campaign. as part of it the adventurers are supposed to be attcked by the darkness surrounding them (as an unnatural occurance), unless they reach some safehavens.

i thought of using shadows. (similar to the 3.5 version) problem is- i can't find no shadows on the 4E MM. i was wondering if i have missed it, or there is some other source they're in? if not- does anyone know of homebrew shadows?

all help will be appreciated of course...

ColdSepp
2009-03-05, 01:45 PM
Maybe refluffed Wraiths?

RTGoodman
2009-03-05, 01:54 PM
What level are we talking? Here's a few ideas from the D&DI Compendium, with sources.

-Dark Creeper (Level 4 Skirmisher) - Monster Manual**
-Wraith (Level 5 Lurker) - Monster Manual
-Dark Stalker (Level 10 Lurker) - Monster Manual
-Dread Wraith (Level 25 Lurker) - Monster Manual

-Wisp Wraith (Level 1 Minion) - Open Grave**
-Moon Wraith (Level 7 Soldier) - Open Grave
-Nighthaunt Slip (Level 12 Minion) - Open Grave
-Caller in Darkness (Level 19 Elite Soldier) - Open Grave

-Shadow Spirit (Level 4 Lurker) - RPGA "Into the Shadowhaunt" adventure**
-Shadow Hulk (Level 4 Brute) - RPGA "The Black Knight of Arabel" adventure

**These would be my personal suggestions, depending on level. Just "reskin" as necessary.

Hzurr
2009-03-05, 03:03 PM
I'd recommend going with some version of the wraith, because their ability to drain healing surges goes nicely with the "Shadows that sap away your strength" schtick.

Artanis
2009-03-05, 04:38 PM