PDA

View Full Version : Ragewalker and Living Spells 3.5

Everyman
2009-04-25, 04:11 PM
DISCLAIMER: If you are a player who meets up at Carthage, kindly backtrack now. Graci.

In the upcoming sessions with my players, I am planning on utilizing living spells as opponents. From there, they will eventually encounter a ragewalker. Since this is my first time really using these creatures in a campaign, I was wondering if I could get your feedback on them. Specifically, I wanted to hear...

1) Any feedback about how to use them? I really don't use a lot of oozes, so any tactical information I should know would be nice. Obviously, mindless creatures shouldn't be forming complex plans, but the ragewalker might arrange them well.

2) How's the ragewalker work for you all on average? It seems like the only way to safely fight them is to have A) a bruiser with Mind Blank (or equivalent) or B) stop them with magic. Even option B has a good chance of failure for a party of 14th level characters (where they should be by the time they fight it).

3) Any suggestions for any spells or types of spells that work well with the living spell template? I have the core spells and the Spell Compendium to work with.

Thanks for your help.

Zhalath
2009-04-25, 06:07 PM
I think the ragewalker should use the oozes as walls, to shape the battlefield, so he can get the players right where he wants them.

Ooh, Evard's black tentacles as a living spell might be cool. Also, try transmute rock to mud as a living spell.

Olo Demonsbane
2009-04-25, 10:19 PM
A Wish living spell is a god of luck :smallbiggrin:

Try to use spells that do not allow a save and are single target for best effect.

Baalthazaq
2009-04-25, 11:36 PM