PDA

View Full Version : Troll (4e PC race)

Ivan Ooze
2009-05-02, 05:52 PM
First and foremost, let me say that I like trolls quite a bit. Secondly, this is my first homebrew, and I'm a bit of a novice at D&D, so I'm not sure how well I've balanced this. Anyway, trolls:

Trolls-
Medium Natural Humanoid (I know, the MM trolls are large, but just go with it)
Ability Scores: +3 STR, +2 CON, -1 INT
Speed: 5 squares
Vision: low-light
Languages: Common, Giant
Skill Bonuses: +2 athletics, +2 endurance

Regeneration
Daily ∞ Standard Action ∞ Personal
Effect: Regain d10 hitpoints
Increase to 2d10 hitpoints at 5th level, 3d10 at 11th level, 2d20 at 21st level, and 3d20 at 30th level
This power may not be used if just hit with fire or acid damage, or if the troll is currently suffering from ongoing fire or acid damage.

Comments? Criticisms? Any and all would be appreciated!

RTGoodman
2009-05-02, 06:01 PM
Not bad, but I think it could use several changes to make it a better all-around race.

For starters, it's a major conceit of 4E design that NO races get ability penalties. Just give 'em +2 Str, +2 Con, and be done with it as far as ability scores go. Or maybe +2 Str and +2 Wis - that makes them different from Goliaths, the other big brutish race out there.

Second, I might call them Trollkin or something like that to make them troll-like, but not necessarily full trolls. That way, you can feel free to make them as smart or as dumb as you like anyway with the pigeonholed racial stupidity thing, and you don't have to worry about them working just like NPC trolls or being the wrong size or anything.

Third, maybe change up the skill bonuses. Give 'em something interesting besides "They're tough and strong." Maybe +2 Endurance, +2 Nature or something like that. Also, the Speed 5 could probably be bumped up to 6, like everyone else normal-sized.