View Full Version : [3.5] Mother Cyst and Spell Mastery

2009-05-11, 02:38 PM
The Description of the Mother Cyst Feat in Libris Mortis states, that you have access and can prepare several spells "as if having the spell mastery feat" (or the like).

Although I doubt it: Is this implicitly enough to take feats usually requiring the Spell Mastery feat, e.g. Signature Spell (Sure, THAT example would not really be worthwhile, but I just as an easy example)? Does anyone know official ruling about such "as if"-statements ("as if by Spell Mastery")?

Thanks in advance!

2009-05-11, 04:14 PM
No. Mother Cyst cannot be used as a substitute prerequisite for Spell Mastery. It only states that you can prepare Cyst spells without having to have them on your spellbook.

There's a difference between "as if" and "as per".