PDA

View Full Version : Ramblings of a Diseased Mind

Tequila Sunrise
2009-05-23, 07:14 PM
I’m looking for a website to discuss homebrew game systems, because I forget the address. I think it’s hosted by some D&D designer or other. If you know it, I’d be obliged. The rest of this post is just the why behind my request, so if you’re not interested in my ramblings stop reading here.

I’ve been playing D&D since I was about ten years old. I like it, but it’s not quite the game I want to GM, and likely never will be. Maybe a published game exists that is exactly what I want to GM, but I doubt it. I’ve been tinkering with my own game system for years now, but have yet to finish it. But I’m living in Korea now without my D&D paraphernalia, so I’ve been brainstorming more about my game. I have no intention of ever publishing a game, these thoughts are purely for my own satisfaction:

Setting. I like all of D&D’s settings, to varying degrees, but I’m going to try a new one just to be all special and artistic-like. I like the idea of an eternally PoL sandbox world, so I’m imagining small pockets of civilization scattered throughout an endless wilderness. I’ve always liked the idea of a faerie realm, so the wilderness will be somewhat dreamlike. Some faerie creatures are mere pranksters, while others are malicious. The civ pockets will be protected from all manner of wandering monsters by magical standing stones created by the gods. That creates a stable status quo: civilizations are protected, but can’t expand very often due to all the dangerous monsters and faerie courts. Enter the adventurers.