PDA

View Full Version : Don't Eat My Brain! (A campaign journal)

TSED
2009-06-01, 11:15 PM
Another campaign journal! This one's a homebrew, and so you know as much as my players do (but not as much as I do). This could be fun.

Characters

Since I am new to DMing, I gave the players a very generous modified 84-point buy. You start with a stat of 0, but increasing it by 1 point always only costs 1 point. Must be above 3 or below 18 before racial mods, blah blah blaaah. I wanted my PCs to survive and feel powerful, you know?

Another big house rule is that I made it so that HD are 'smaller' but always get a bonus to them. For clarification, a D4 is really a d3+1, a D6 is d4+2, a d8 is d6+2, a d10 is d4+6, and a d12 is d4+8. As I am new to DMing, I want to give my players leeway in the case of I-underestimated-this-monsteritis.

Lastly, there are no class skills. You still get the regular amount of skill points, but you can spend it on any skill you wish. Spot and Listen are merged into one Awareness (but you still make separate spot / listen checks), along with hide / move silently, open lock / disable device, and probably something else.

"Bob" the Druid - Was absent today. Something came up so he missed the first session, but it works out in the end (why would a druid of the sky be inside?). He's a human storm druid (see Crystal Keep) with thematic spell and Born of the Three Thunders, should be fun and not quite as broken as druids usually are. Slightly worried about him playing "Chaotic Stupid" as I know the guy... Also he is named Bob for now as the guy doesn't have a real name yet.