PDA

View Full Version : Encounter building/balance advice [4E]

XiaoTie
2009-06-05, 06:08 PM
Gral, Edea, NEO, Del and Star: Stay away :smalltongue:

So I decided that the last combat encounter of our group first adventure should be a bit more challenging and even more fun than the others. Everyone and their uncles do that :smalltongue: but unlike most of them, I'm not that good with coming up with ways to make 'balanced' new unusual stuff.
With that in mind, I come to you guys to maybe get some help on that. But, before I show you the encounter, let me introduce the PCs:

Selences, female elven Ranger (archery);
Kavaki, male goliath Shaman (protector spirit);
Aria, female human Swordmage (shielding);
Fisto, 'male' warforged Monk;
Zafer, male fire genasi Warden (wild warden);

So far only two of them (Selences and Aria) have some unique items which I made with some help of the homebrewers here on this (http://www.giantitp.com/forums/showthread.php?t=113185) thread.

With a generous array (18 16 16 14 12 10) and clever tactics they have walked through some level 3 encounters while they were only level 1. Now they are level 2 (almost 3) and are about to face the evil kobold dude that runs this place they are in.

In order to make this special and dynamic I decided to use the good ol' "Early Form"-"Final Form" kind of boss. Namely, a kobold that once "killed" will (after being empowered by two statues thing) transform into a dragon.

Here's what I have:

They will fight in a large room (giving the dragon form some room to maneuver)
– Part I – Early Form

[x] 1 kobold War Priest [L5 – Controller] {Dragon 364, p. 59}
[x] 2 goblin Bodyguard [L1 – Elite Soldier] (goblin warriors with the template Bodyguard and some changes)

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v454/Loce/jogo/Elitegoblincpia.png

([x] Trap-Idol)