PDA

View Full Version : a question of feats

tribble
2009-06-21, 08:45 PM
I'm very new to D&D, myself, my bro and his best friend (he's a cool dude) are starting up a 3.5 campaign, I'm playing an Elf Wizard. everybody starts out at level one, but as a newbie I find myself rather intimidated by all the lists...

Anyway, what's a good starting feat for a wizard?

Tukka
2009-06-21, 08:48 PM
Collegiate Wizard (in Complete Arcane). (Edit: it gives you a bunch of extra spells in your spellbook at first level, plus a couple extra spells every time you level up -- plus a nice little skill bonus to knowledge (arcana) checks. Note that it doesn't appear listed among the other feats in the book, but instead is located in a sidebar on pg 181).

Extend Spell is OK too at low levels (edit: though it wouldn't be immediately useful -- it's more of a 3rd level feat).

Keld Denar
2009-06-21, 08:48 PM
What sources available? Just the PHB? Or maybe Complete X series? That makes a huge difference.

What are your plans for the character? Do you have any aims at PrCs? Some have prereqs to plan for. If you don't know, would you like some suggestions for builds? Answer question 1 above for more info.

Eldariel
2009-06-21, 08:50 PM
I'm very new to D&D, myself, my bro and his best friend (he's a cool dude) are starting up a 3.5 campaign, I'm playing an Elf Wizard. everybody starts out at level one, but as a newbie I find myself rather intimidated by all the lists...

Anyway, what's a good starting feat for a wizard?

What kinds of sources are you working with? Anything beyond Player's Handbook? In particular, do you have access to Complete Arcane/Complete Mage/Races of the Wild? Life will be much easier with the knowledge of this.