PDA

View Full Version : Animal Poisons (3.5)

JellyPooga
2009-06-24, 05:15 AM
To put it bluntly; why do they suck?

For example; a Medium Vipers poison has a DC of 11. 11?!? Even Average-McAverage-Pants the Commoner resists that half the time.

There's barely even scope to increase that without increasing size as well (in fact, the only way I know of to do so, short of magical items, is for it to be an Animal Companion and/or Familiar or to substitute it's Weapon Finesse, thus being totally incapable of hitting anything, for Ability Focus, which even then only puts it up to 13).

Whatever happened to venomous snake-bites that practically guarantee death without almost immediate aid in the form of anti-venom or amputation? I'm no expert on snakes, but I'm pretty sure that when talking about venomous snakes, they range from "Oh dear, I'd better get that seen to" to "Oh god I've been bi-...urk!" and a flat DC:11 just doesn't give me that kind of impression.

Quietus
2009-06-24, 05:20 AM
To put it bluntly; why do they suck?

For example; a Medium Vipers poison has a DC of 11. 11?!? Even Average-McAverage-Pants the Commoner resists that half the time.

There's barely even scope to increase that without increasing size as well (in fact, the only way I know of to do so, short of magical items, is for it to be an Animal Companion and/or Familiar or to substitute it's Weapon Finesse, thus being totally incapable of hitting anything, for Ability Focus, which even then only puts it up to 13).

Whatever happened to venomous snake-bites that practically guarantee death without almost immediate aid in the form of anti-venom or amputation? I'm no expert on snakes, but I'm pretty sure that when talking about venomous snakes, they range from "Oh dear, I'd better get that seen to" to "Oh god I've been bi-...urk!" and a flat DC:11 just doesn't give me that kind of impression.