PDA

View Full Version : DM Out of practice: problem player? or problem dm?

archmage45
2009-06-25, 08:28 AM
I haven't role-played/DMed in about... 3.5 years. I haven't run a solo game in a decade. I'm trying to play with my wife. She and I have VERY different ideas about D&D.

I've been wanting to play for a while now. I missed D&D day, and free RPG day, and keep a very busy schedule, so I thought if I could get a game in with her, an hour here, an hour there, that it would scratch that RPG-itch.

I want to play 4e, but I have no experience with it, and with a single player... well, I just don't feel comfortable doing that. So I thought maybe d20/3.x, but that is so rules heavy, and she couldn't care less about the rules. I thought maybe going back to basics - Rules Cyclopedia. It's where I started, and it's pretty rules lite. But then I read microlite20. Perfect! A single page of rules!

So I made 3 human characters, a fighter, a rogue, and a cleric for her to chose from. I found a simple adventure to get us warmed up - http://hamsterhoard.blogspot.com/2009/02/microdungeon-understudy.html

We sat down last night to play, and I showed her the characters, and she started by asking why she had to be a human? Ok, no problem, I showed her the m20 options: elf, dwarf, and halfling. She asked why she couldn't be one of the cool races from the 4ePHB? She wanted to play a dragonborn...

Ok... I gave her a +2 to strength and a +2 to communication skills, and changed the character sheet to dragonborn. We went over a basic background, that she was raised in a military temple thing and that she's being sent to check out a recently destroyed wizards tower to make sure there isn't anything bad that will eat the villagers. She makes it down the stairs, avoiding both the traps. Spots the dragonflys, but doesn't protect herself until after they attacked her, then smashes them. Goes down the hall, smashes another.