PDA

View Full Version : Game Concept: Would You Play This Video Game?

Xallace
2009-06-27, 04:44 PM
I'll start by saying that I'm not a programmer, so this is really just a thought experiment. I actually have a feeling that this might take a lot of effort even for experienced programmers.

The Set-Up:
The game takes place in a big, probably fictional, city. For some reason or another, super-powered individuals start popping up all over the place, and most of them (all of them?) are not on the Happy Team of Peace and Justice. They hold down the city, cut it off from the rest of the world, and proceed to make life terrible for the inhabitants.

Our protagonist is not one of these individuals. In fact, our protagonist has no super powers at all, or if (s)he does, they aren't flashy or combat-oriented. (S)He may not be your average Joe, but isn't even close to the Supermen either.

Gameplay:

The goal is to rid the city of the spandex infestation.

While probably decent in a fist-fight, our hero's lack of god-like abilities makes going head-to-head with the Supermen (or even someone with a gun) a less-than-intelligent option. That's where we get to the main gimmick of the game: you can interact with nearly every object in the city. You can tie ropes to streetlights, stack crates, put bricks on gas pedals... the game wouldn't be able to mimic every possibility, but for the most part if you can come up with it, you can do it (within reason).

You put together traps. A city-wide climax to a Home Alone movie, almost. You can gather information and catch your enemy off guard, or perhaps bait them into chasing you to your overly-convoluted death trap. And these are not pre-determined trappings... you design everything yourself using the city's resources. How well you do at the game is limited only by your creativity.

This game would need an awesome physics engine, and would be a sandbox by necessity.

Other Points of Interest