PDA

View Full Version : Monster: The Starved

Reltzik
2005-10-07, 05:43 PM
Okay. There I was, browsing these forums (having come here from the comic), and I came across the Contest forum. I saw the Make Some Monsters contest. I read a few entries. The brain juices started flowing, which is a really iciky metaphor if you think about it. I thought, hey! I've got a few neat ideas for that! So I spent a couple of hours I should have been job-hunting drawing up a nice rip-off of zombies.

So I register.

I go to post.

I realize that all the topics are locked, and that the contest ended seven days ago and is now in voting.

Idiot! Idiot! Idiot!

In case you haven't noticed yet, I'm a newbie.

Anyhow, this seemed like too neat an idea to go to waste, and this SEEMS like the right forum to post it in. (If not, I'm sure many people will tell me, very very quickly. How many mistakes are we newbies allotted, anyway?) Constructive comments and criticism are invited.

-------------
Monster: The Starved

Description: An emaciated humanoid, pale and weak-looking, more bones and skin than flesh.

There are some very bad ways to die in the world, and death by hunger of thirst is near the top. It happens just as often in the back alleys of a metropolis as it does in long, desolate reaches of wilderness. It is a very long, slow, agonizing death, and sometimes the extended suffering is enough to cause the corpse to rise as a Starved. Some Starved are in advanced state of decay, while others (especially those who died in dry or cold climates) could pass as living. Starved that died together (usually as a travelling party in the wilderness) tend to stay together in undeath. Larger parties are often accompanied by about one ghoul or ghast for every twenty Starved.

Starved:
Medium Undead
HD: 2d12 (13)
Initiative: +0
Speed: 30 ft (6 squares, can't run)
Armor: 12 (+2 natural)
Base attack/grapple: +1/+3
Attack: Slam +3 (1d6 + 2)
Full attack: Slam +3 melee (1d6 + 2)
Space/Reach: 5/5