View Full Version : function questions

2009-07-18, 03:43 PM
I know that the monk's belt does not work with armor, but can it work with a robe that grants armor bonus such as the robe of arcane might?
and does a competence bonus to caster level from different sources stack?

2009-07-18, 04:12 PM
The monk's belt (http://www.d20srd.org/srd/magicItems/wondrousItems.htm#beltMonks) functions as the Monk's AC Bonus class feature, which is:

AC Bonus (Ex)
When unarmored and unencumbered, the monk adds her Wisdom bonus (if any) to her AC. In addition, a monk gains a +1 bonus to AC at 5th level. This bonus increases by 1 for every five monk levels thereafter (+2 at 10th, +3 at 15th, and +4 at 20th level).

For a non-Monk character, you would gain an unnamed bonus to AC equal to your Wis modifier + 1.

The robe of the archmagi (http://www.d20srd.org/srd/magicItems/wondrousItems.htm#robeoftheArchmagi) and other similar items grant an ARMOR BONUS to AC, but are not, strictly speaking, armor. The items would stack in that they provide totally different sorts of bonuses, even though they improve the same thing.

As far as stacking competence bonuses to CL, that doesn't work by the rules. In general, the rule is that bonuses of the same type NEVER stack, except dodge bonuses and circumstance bonuses from different circumstances.

See THIS (http://www.d20srd.org/srd/theBasics.htm#stacking) for more rules on bonuses and stacking.

Also, for questions like these, we have a Simple Q&A thread stickied in the Roleplaying Games section. For simple rules questions, it's the best place to ask.