PDA

View Full Version : Calculator at the table

oxinabox
2009-07-25, 09:11 AM
Do you play with a calculator at hand?
As a player?
As a DM?

As a DM i always have a calculator, I need to get number moved fast.
as a player i normally don't.
seems a bit rude, pressing buttons mid game.
for a dm it's ok, cos of the 'player/dm separation' (often represented by the dm screen.

I'm a uni maths undergraduate.
Mathematicians as a rule are poor at arithmetic.
I carry a scieftic calculaor everywhere with me.
WHo knows when your going to need to multiply some complex numbers. or find some matrix products. or do some simple trig?

oooh! I haz 72+32i HP left!
Sweet i'm going to make a monster that deals imaginary damage!

aside of topic:
A neat trick fpr players to keep track of HP is to record damage (too me ages to think of that), instead of remaining HP, and then go unconscios when that reachs Max Hp.
addtion is easier than subraction.

But As a DM that's to hard as that would involve recording the max hp and the current wounds.

AstralFire
2009-07-25, 09:13 AM
I play online, so yes.

The few times I've played in person was when I was in high school. A high school where everyone - EVERYONE - had a graphing calculator at all times. Even the jocks (...such as we had jocks, anyway). So yes to then, too. :D

Irreverent Fool
2009-07-25, 09:18 AM
Back when I started playing RPGs, I was in high school. The school had a (ridiculously) strict policy on dice, card, board games, etc. So those of us with graphing calculators (or those of us who had them checked out from the math lab) programmed dice rollers into them. Granted, you could just run a random number function without a program, but we thought it was neat to have our own little programs.