PDA

View Full Version : A low Int character...

Milskidasith
2009-07-27, 12:01 PM
I'm pretty new to roleplaying; I really haven't done much freeform RPing, and this is my first game of D&D. I'm a cleric with 17 wis and 16 cha, but 7 int (not super low... but still pretty damn bad). I'm just not sure on the distinctions between wisdom and intelligence; I can't really figure out what would fall under intelligence and what would fall under wisdom. (besides that he's probably good at solving puzzles).

Strawman
2009-07-27, 12:10 PM
I think that in general, wisdom applies to the long term and the philisophical, while intelligence would be short term and detail-oriented stuff.

The character would know what the best plan for the party is, but would not know how to go about making that plan. The character would be able to get a read on a person's character and intent, but would not be able to figure out a person's motivations based on the situation they are in (A high wis/low int character could figure out that a king is selfish and evil, but would not be able to figure out what selfish and evil plan the kill might do).

At least that is my interpretation. The distinction in the game is kind of vague and suspect. I would recomend figuring out a distinction that appeals to your sensibilities, and then stick to that distinction consistently.

Douglas
2009-07-27, 12:14 PM
High wisdom: lots of common sense, very perceptive, good judgment
Low int: poor memory, can't handle complex things, slow learner

Solving puzzles typically (it depends somewhat on the type of puzzle) falls under intelligence, so your character would be bad at solving puzzles.

jmbrown
2009-07-27, 12:16 PM
Wisdom deals with common sense and insight. Intelligence deals with analytical and rational processing.