PDA

View Full Version : Simple Q&A (by RAW) X (All Systems)



Pages : 1 [2]

blazinghand
2009-08-27, 04:23 AM
A 92
Against all logic, you keep Powerful Build when you wild shape. According the the Wild shape ability, it functions as the Alternate Form ability barring certain things (time, etc, but the important stuff is in Alternate Form). The Alternate Form Ability says "The creature retains the special qualities of its original form. It does not gain any special qualities of its new form." And, according to the Half-Giant monster entry, Powerful Build is a special quality.

So, RAW, you keep Powerful Build. It's ludicrous, however, and I would rule in my campaigns that you don't.

powerdemon
2009-08-27, 09:53 AM
Q 94

How does a wizard make a construct that requires cleric/druid spells?

Q 95

If a construct has a CL requirement of 14, but one of the spells you don't get until level 15... Why have a CL requirement at all? Is there some way to use that spell earlier?

Curmudgeon
2009-08-27, 10:27 AM
A 94 With help.

An item creator can have assistance in supplying the creation requirements. If the creator must hire out part of the work, use the Spellcasting And Services (http://www.d20srd.org/srd/equipment/goodsAndServices.htm#spellcastingAndServices) table to figure out the cost of each daily spell needed.

powerdemon
2009-08-27, 10:34 AM
A 94 With help.

An item creator can have assistance in supplying the creation requirements. If the creator must hire out part of the work, use the Spellcasting And Services (http://www.d20srd.org/srd/equipment/goodsAndServices.htm#spellcastingAndServices) table to figure out the cost of each daily spell needed.

I always thought that the creator himself had to cast the spells. Thanks! That is GREAT news!

Curmudgeon
2009-08-27, 10:38 AM
A 95

You'll need to give more specifics. Is this an actual caster level requirement, or just the caster level used for purposes of the construct's cost and capabilities? Craft Construct (http://www.d20srd.org/srd/monsterFeats.htm#craftConstruct) doesn't have any direct caster level requirements.

powerdemon
2009-08-27, 10:46 AM
A 95

You'll need to give more specifics. Is this an actual caster level requirement, or just the caster level used for purposes of the construct's cost and capabilities? Craft Construct (http://www.d20srd.org/srd/monsterFeats.htm#craftConstruct) doesn't have any direct caster level requirements.

Looking at the Alchemical Golem from MM3, in the Construction section, it lists a CL requirement of 14, but the spell Polymorph Any Object requires a Wizard to be Level 15 before he can cast it (16 for Sorcerers).

CL 14th; Craft Construct (see page 206), geas/quest, limited wish, poison, and polymorph any object, caster must be at least 14th level; Price 70,000 gp; Cost 36,000 gp + 2,720 XP.

Curmudgeon
2009-08-27, 10:59 AM
A 95

It pays to read your errata.
Page 67: Golems (All)
Remove polymorph any object from the list of spells required to create the golem.

powerdemon
2009-08-27, 11:03 AM
A 95

It pays to read your errata.

Ugh, too much errata!

Thanks. But say this comes up again with another construct, what then? Or should this not come up again? :smallbiggrin:

Curmudgeon
2009-08-27, 11:18 AM
Thanks. But say this comes up again with another construct, what then?
Obvious answer: ask another question. :smallsmile:

Samuel Sturm
2009-08-27, 11:18 AM
Q 96

What books are

1. Factotum
2. Chameleon
3. Master of many masks

in?

Edit for accidental early post

Eloel
2009-08-27, 11:23 AM
Q 96

2. Chameleon
3. Master of many masks

A96
Races of Destiny
Complete Scoundrel

Fax Celestis
2009-08-27, 11:25 AM
A96 Factotum is in Dungeonscape, Chameleon is in Races of Destiny, and Master of Masks is in Complete Scoundrel.

Curmudgeon
2009-08-27, 11:30 AM
A 96 additional info

Useful links:

(Base) Character Class Index (http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dnd/lists/class)

Prestige Class Index (http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dnd/lists/prc)

powerdemon
2009-08-27, 02:06 PM
Q 97

Pertaining to healing constructs, are there any other spells that heal them besides repair light/moderate/serious/critical damage? Such as a Heal spell equivalent?

ColdSepp
2009-08-27, 02:17 PM
Q 97

Pertaining to healing constructs, are there any other spells that heal them besides repair light/moderate/serious/critical damage? Such as a Heal spell equivalent?

A. 97

Total Repair is the Heal Equivalent. It's in ECS.

powerdemon
2009-08-27, 02:22 PM
A. 97

Total Repair is the Heal Equivalent. It's in ECS.

Good news. Thanks!

KillianHawkeye
2009-08-27, 04:33 PM
A 92 addition/correction

There is actually a feat called Powerful Wild Shape in Races of Stone which specifically allows you to retain powerful build. So without that feat, you can't.

Kosjsjach
2009-08-27, 06:24 PM
Q 98 (3.5)

A changeling who takes rogue racial substitution levels receives (10+int) skill points at 1st, 3rd, and 8th level. Does he also receive (10+int) at the levels in-between or after?

powerdemon
2009-08-27, 06:46 PM
Q 98 (3.5)

A changeling who takes rogue racial substitution levels receives (10+int) skill points at 1st, 3rd, and 8th level. Does he also receive (10+int) at the levels in-between or after?

A 98 No
Racial substitution levels only affect the levels they replace, not the ones between or after.

powerdemon
2009-08-27, 06:56 PM
Q 99

The Rune Golem from Dr 343 lists the spell Meld Into Wood as a prereq. I can't find that spell anywhere. Anyone know where it is?

Curmudgeon
2009-08-27, 07:21 PM
A 99 ?

I've got no idea. It's not in any spell index I know of. (There are Meld into Stone in the Player's Handbook, and Meld into Ice in Frostburn, but nothing with Wood.) It's not a Wu Jen spell in Complete Arcane, nor a renamed spell in Spell Compendium. It's not in that same issue of the magazine (Dragon # 343).

powerdemon
2009-08-27, 08:13 PM
A 99 ?

I've got no idea. It's not in any spell index I know of. (There are Meld into Stone in the Player's Handbook, and Meld into Ice in Frostburn, but nothing with Wood.) It's not a Wu Jen spell in Complete Arcane, nor a renamed spell in Spell Compendium. It's not in that same issue of the magazine (Dragon # 343).

Wizards sick sense of humor?

Powerdemon get's 10 points for the stump :smallbiggrin:. I think I'll ask the DM to get rid of it or use meld into stone instead.

Stegyre
2009-08-28, 09:12 AM
Came up with another one:

Q 100
3.5
Can the feats Practiced Manifester and Practiced Spellcaster be used to meet the minimum manifester level / caster level prerequisites of a prestige class?

Practiced Manifester and Practiced Spellcaster
both provide "Your [manifester/caster] level for the chosen [manifesting/spell casting] class increases by four." (Up to the limit of the character's level/HD.) This explicitly does not increase powers/spells known, spell slots/power points, but it is explicitly defined as "increases your [manifester/caster] level."

Prestige classes such as Metamind have as a prerequisite "Manifester level 4th."

By RAW, it seems to me that, for example, a character with Psion 1, Rogue 3+, and Practiced Manifester (plus the other prerequisites: know(psi) 8, psicraft (4), psycrystal affinity) is eligible for the Metamind prestige class: the feat plus the 3 or more levels of another class combine to meet the manifester level requirement. Squirrely, but RAW?

Douglas
2009-08-28, 09:25 AM
A100

Yes, that works, and in my opinion is not "squirrely" at all.

guardinal
2009-08-28, 12:09 PM
Q101:

Very basic question. Am I correct in thinking that under 3.5 rules, a wizard can prepare a completely new, full compliment of spells more than once in a single day (after resting for 8 hours before each spell preparation session)?

EDIT:
Example: Jim Darkmagic awakens in the morning (~6am) and prepares a number of combat spells. The party spends the morning in fierce combat and wrap things up by noon. Jim has exhausted all his spells. Can Jim now nap/meditate for eight uninterrupted hours, awakening at ~8:30pm, and prepare a new set of spells?

quick_comment
2009-08-28, 12:15 PM
A101

No, you are not. Spells cast in the last 8 hours count against the wizard's daily spell limit, regardless of if he rests.

Curmudgeon
2009-08-28, 12:54 PM
A 101 additional info

There's also the basic limitation of Spells per Day, so the Wizard would have to wait for the next day in any case.

Random832
2009-08-28, 01:07 PM
A 101 clarification

The "in the last eight hours" means the eight hours in which you were supposedly resting (i.e. if you were interrupted and cast spells during that interruption), not the eight hours before you started resting. Curmudgeon has it though; you can't use this to get multiple sets of daily spells.

Human Paragon 3
2009-08-28, 02:17 PM
Q102

If a Nightmare (http://www.d20srd.org/srd/monsters/nightmare.htm)is mounted and activates its etherealnes ability, does the rider go ethereal as well, or does he just fall through the Nightmare?

blazinghand
2009-08-28, 03:03 PM
A 102
The spell Etherealness lets you bring along other touched creatures. Nightmare's ability functions just like the spell.

mikethepoor
2009-08-28, 08:13 PM
Q103, D&D 3.5

Do the effective size category bonuses to shield bash damage from shield spikes and the Bashing enchantment stack, or do I simply get whichever one is larger?

Kallisti
2009-08-28, 08:24 PM
A 103
Unless the rules for either specify that they don't stack with other size category increase effects, they stack.

Human Paragon 3
2009-08-28, 10:49 PM
Q104 If I have one devoted spirit stance (Ironguard Glare) does that qualify me for the manuever Divine Surge, which requires one Devo manuever?

ColdSepp
2009-08-28, 10:51 PM
Q104 If I have one devoted spirit stance (Ironguard Glare) does that qualify me for the manuever Divine Surge, which requires one Devo manuever?

A. 105
Yes. Stances count as maneuvers for prerequisites.

Mauril Everleaf
2009-08-29, 12:00 AM
Q 105 3.5/Pathfinder
Is there a metamagic feat that will allow me to turn a healing spell (such as cure light wounds) into a ranged spell? If so, what is it called, where can I find it and what is the metamagic cost? Thanks.

powerdemon
2009-08-29, 12:33 AM
Q 106
Is there any cost formula or rules for making a magic item that bestows a feat?

Curmudgeon
2009-08-29, 12:45 AM
A 106

The basic rule for adjudicating the cost of any new magic item is to compare it to similar items. I've assembled a list of magic items granting feats, and reverse-engineered the costs of those feats (where possible) here (http://home.comcast.net/~ftm3/JHtB/feats.html).

Next there's a pricing suggestion in Arms and Equipment Guide on page 128. Basically it's 10,000 gp for each feat, and 5,000 - 10,000 gp for each prerequisite.

Finally, as always, check with your DM.

powerdemon
2009-08-29, 12:47 AM
A 106

The basic rule for adjudicating the cost of any new magic item is to compare it to similar items. I've assembled a list of magic items granting feats, and reverse-engineered the costs of those feats (where possible) here (http://home.comcast.net/~ftm3/JHtB/feats.html).

Next there's a pricing suggestion in Arms and Equipment Guide on page 128. Basically it's 10,000 gp for each feat, and 5,000 - 10,000 gp for each prerequisite.

Finally, as always, check with your DM.

Nice list, thanks!

Curmudgeon
2009-08-29, 12:48 AM
A 105

Reach Spell (Complete Divine) will let you use a touch spell as a ray with a range of 30'. The cost is +2 spell levels.

Eloel
2009-08-29, 04:01 AM
Q107
Can a Multi-Headed creature, who's also a Dragonfire Adept, use it's breath weapon from all it's heads at once?
What about if the breath weapon was from Dragonborn template? Dragon Shaman class?

If no, can a dragonborn multi-headed creature alternate breaths from it's heads?
Like, a maximized breath from first head, for 1d4+4 recover time, and next round, another breath from it's 2nd head?

lrellok
2009-08-29, 04:39 AM
Q 108

Is there a feat to allow the use of dex modifier for damage with ranged weapons, instead of strength, and if so which book is it in?

Q 109
The darkfire spell (p59 spell compendium) states that you can attack with the darkfire as a touch attack, melee or ranged, and a new fire globe appears in your hand. Does this mean that attacking with darkfire is a melee attack, and can be used multiple times a round if BAB is +6? Does this work for produce flame and other spells that have similar effects? Does this work with Two Weapon Fighting or multi weapon fighting for a multi handed creature?

I am designing an Avolaki preist BBEG and am double checking my "ways to make players sob" list.

Pain~less
2009-08-29, 06:38 AM
Q 110

Is it possible to move through swarms? I was thinking of filling a shaft with locusts via the insect plague spell. Can you climb through them? What happens if you fall into them from above?

The Dark Fiddler
2009-08-29, 08:06 AM
Q 111

D&D 3.5

Is it possible, by Core if possible, to enhance Unarmed Strikes like a magical weapon (for example, a Dragon Bane unarmed strike?)

Eloel
2009-08-29, 08:08 AM
A111
No. You can use Gauntlets, and beg your DM to allow you to use your unarmed strike damage with Gauntlets, but that's about it.

powerdemon
2009-08-29, 08:31 AM
Q 108
Is there a feat to allow the use of dex modifier for damage with ranged weapons, instead of strength, and if so which book is it in?


A 108 Partial

Crossbow Sniper from Players Handbook II let's you add half your dex mod to damage.

That's the only one I know.

Curmudgeon
2009-08-29, 09:02 AM
A 108 No.

There are feats to allow adding your Dexterity modifier in addition to your Strength modifier to damage, but none that replace it.

Crossbow Sniper adds ½ your DEX mod. Dead Eye (Dragon Compendium) adds DEX mod within 30'. Shadow Blade (Tome of Battle) adds DEX mod for Shadow Hand weapons, which include daggers (melee or thrown only).

EDIT: melee-only for Shadow Blade.

Eloel
2009-08-29, 09:07 AM
Q112
Does Shadow Blade let you add Dex to damage for a thrown dagger? Does it even work if you lose Str bonus to your throw? (By virtue of Master Thrower)

Curmudgeon
2009-08-29, 09:09 AM
A 111 Yes.

Gauntlets, by RAW, do not support weapon enhancements; magically they're for wondrous items instead. However, the Necklace of Natural Attacks (Savage Species and also here (http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dnd/fc/20060707a)) will do exactly what you want.

Curmudgeon
2009-08-29, 09:12 AM
A 112 No.

I'm sorry; I goofed. Shadow Blade only adds DEX mod for melee damage with Shadow Hand weapons. (I'll revise my earlier answer to avoid confusion.)

Curmudgeon
2009-08-29, 09:17 AM
A 110 Yes.
A swarm can move through squares occupied by enemies and vice versa without impediment, although the swarm provokes an attack of opportunity if it does so. Read more about swarms here (http://www.d20srd.org/srd/typesSubtypes.htm#swarmSubtype).

Curmudgeon
2009-08-29, 09:29 AM
A 109

Yes, Darkfire allows you to make iterative attacks. Yes, the same is true for Produce Flame. No, you cannot use multiple hands for the attack. The effect of both Darkfire and Produce Flame is for one hand, not hands.
Dark flames appear in your hand.
Flames as bright as a torch appear in your open hand. You cannot use multiple spells for touch attacks.
Touch Spells in Combat

Holding the Charge

If you cast another spell, the touch spell dissipates.

Eloel
2009-08-29, 09:51 AM
Q107
Can a Multi-Headed creature, who's also a Dragonfire Adept, use it's breath weapon from all it's heads at once?
What about if the breath weapon was from Dragonborn template? Dragon Shaman class?

If no, can a dragonborn multi-headed creature alternate breaths from it's heads?
Like, a maximized breath from first head, for 1d4+4 recover time, and next round, another breath from it's 2nd head?

Repost from last page

Forbiddenwar
2009-08-29, 11:44 AM
q113
3.5
Can you fix a weapon augment crystal on an unarmed attack if the attack is enhanced to the required level using a spell or magic item?

q114
3.5
Is there a way to use the healing skill to boost magical healing?
For example, Martha makes a healing check when casting cure light wounds and gets a 17. +2 Hitpoints are added to the result of the spell.

Stegyre
2009-08-29, 01:03 PM
These are perhaps not properly RAW questions, yet they also don't really justify starting their own thread(s). Both questions are as to 3.5:

Q115
Is there any feat that grants access to an additional domain (or, for that matter, that would give access to a domain's granted power even for a non-cleric)?

Q116
What monsters (if any) have fabricate as spell or SLA?

Curmudgeon
2009-08-29, 01:17 PM
A 113 No.

A weapon augment crystal can only be attached to a magic item, not a creature.
An augment crystal is a small gem, crystal, or similar object that provides a magical effect when affixed to a weapon, shield, or suit of armor (or any other magic item that grants an armor bonus to AC).

Curmudgeon
2009-08-29, 01:22 PM
A 114

The Healing Lorecall spell (Spell Compendium) lets you use your Heal ranks instead of your caster level for healing spells, in addition to allowing you to remove impeding conditions.

Curmudgeon
2009-08-29, 01:26 PM
A 115 Yes.

Bonus Domain (Complete Divine, page 89).

Siosilvar
2009-08-29, 01:32 PM
Q107
Can a Multi-Headed creature, who's also a Dragonfire Adept, use it's breath weapon from all it's heads at once?
What about if the breath weapon was from Dragonborn template? Dragon Shaman class?

If no, can a dragonborn multi-headed creature alternate breaths from it's heads?
Like, a maximized breath from first head, for 1d4+4 recover time, and next round, another breath from it's 2nd head?

A107 (3.5) partial
No, for all of your questions not relating to dragonborn. You get one breath weapon from Dragonfire Adept and one breath weapon from Dragon Shaman.

Curmudgeon
2009-08-29, 01:34 PM
A 116

The Epic Prismatic Dragon (http://www.d20srd.org/srd/epic/monsters/dragonEpic.htm#prismaticDragon) has Fabricate as a Sorcerer spell. The Rejkar (Monster Manual III, page 140) has it as a spell-like ability at will.

Human Paragon 3
2009-08-29, 03:59 PM
Q117 The power Concealing Amporpha, Greater creates a quasi real membrane that grants total concealment. Does trueseeing defeat the power, or does it just see the membrane, which is quasi real and therefore actually present and still providing concealment?

Fax Celestis
2009-08-29, 04:06 PM
A117 As a metacreativity (creation) effect, true seeing does not negate the effects of greater concealing amorpha. The best way to describe it is that it exists as a physical object, but is pretty much jello.

Human Paragon 3
2009-08-29, 04:29 PM
Q118 Is a ranged touch attack from an Orb of Force considered a ranged attack for the purpose of the spell Sublime Revelry (which halves the damage from ranged attacks)? What about Disintegrate?

Kallisti
2009-08-29, 04:33 PM
A 118
Unless the Sublime Revelry spell specifies it only affects ranged attacks from weapons, yes, it applies to ranged touch attacks such as spells.

Salvonus
2009-08-29, 04:55 PM
Q 119 [D&D 3.5]

Does Fast Healing from multiple sources stack?

lrellok
2009-08-29, 05:09 PM
Q 120 (trying again)

A player built a master thrower with a str of 10 and a dex of 18. We need to fix his damage. How do we get his dex modifier to add to THROWN weapon damage?

Curmudgeon
2009-08-29, 05:28 PM
A 120

Here's the same answer again: the Dead Eye feat from Dragon Compendium, page 95. Also see the errata here (http://paizo.com/download/dragon/compendium/DragonCompendiumVolumeIErrata.pdf).

Godskook
2009-08-29, 05:38 PM
Q 120 (trying again)

A player built a master thrower with a str of 10 and a dex of 18. We need to fix his damage. How do we get his dex modifier to add to THROWN weapon damage?

What's the build?

Boci
2009-08-29, 05:42 PM
Q 120 (trying again)

A player built a master thrower with a str of 10 and a dex of 18. We need to fix his damage. How do we get his dex modifier to add to THROWN weapon damage?

Shadow blade for dex to damage woth daggers.

According to the sage Swashbuckler will allow int of thrown daggers, but strict RAW does not allow it.

Foryn Gilnith
2009-08-29, 05:43 PM
A120

Or, because I've never known a DM who allowed Dragon Compendium...
Champion of Corellon Larethian, Races of the Wild page 114 only specifies the weapons, not melee or ranged. It might be difficult to throw longswords and the like, and the prereqs are horrible; but eh.
Arms and Equipment Guide page 96 has a weapon property, Fierce, that allows this. For every point of your Dexterity bonus that you allocate to damage, you take -1 AC, so it might be subpar.

Curmudgeon
2009-08-29, 06:02 PM
Shadow blade for dex to damage woth daggers.
Nope. I made that mistake already.
Benefit: While you are in a Shadow Hand stance and attack with one of the discipline’s preferred weapons, you can add your Dexterity modifier as a bonus on melee damage for attacks made with the weapon. No bonus if you throw the dagger.

Godskook
2009-08-29, 06:14 PM
A 120

If you're using ToB, 2 levels of bloodstorm blade will allow shadow blade to work on throws(and for the record, the feat works on more than just daggers, but requires a shadow hand stance).

Fax Celestis
2009-08-29, 07:01 PM
Q121 How would having both Carmendine Monk (or Kung-Fu Genius) and Ascetic Mage work?

Yora
2009-08-29, 07:23 PM
A 119

At least, if it is from two times the same source, like having a spell cast on a character and a wearing an item that uses the same spell, it would not work at the same time.

If it's from say a racial trait and an active spell, I don't know. :smallfrown:

Salvonus
2009-08-29, 07:33 PM
Reply: A119

My question pertains to the stack-ability of a feat (such as Combat VigorPHBII) and, well, pretty much anything else (spell, item, race, class, etc).

Foryn Gilnith
2009-08-29, 07:36 PM
A121

Ascetic Mage does not offer an option to not substitute charisma (If A, then B); while Carmendine Monk does offer an option to not substitute intelligence (If A, then you may B). It would seem that using your Charisma modifier for monk AC would be the only way to preserve continuity. The fact that it was worded without the word "may" (including a parenthetical note about potentially not even having a charisma modifier) implies that Ascetic Mage was meant to have such drawbacks. I'm not sure how Kung fu Genius is worded, as I lack Dragon magazines.

Curmudgeon
2009-08-29, 07:58 PM
A 121 additional info

Kung Fu Genius (from Dragon # 319) is also in Dragon Compendium on page 101, and permits (but does not require) you to use INT rather than WIS for all Monk special abilities. The only Monk special ability that uses WIS is their AC bonus. Ascetic Mage would allow Sorcerer and Monk levels to stack for the purpose of determining the extra bonus to AC from class levels (1 per 5 combined levels).

*.*.*.*
2009-08-29, 08:42 PM
Q122:Using the arcane swordsage(spellsage :smallcool:) it says that the spells are "cast" as if it were a martial maneuver, does that mean it no longer qualifies as a spell for effects?(Metmagic, AMF, dispel etc)

IthilanorStPete
2009-08-29, 10:28 PM
Q123 How much extra does making a weapon out of kaorti resin add to the weapon's market price?

El Dorado
2009-08-29, 11:17 PM
Q 124 D&D 3.5

The PHB states that on a critical hit, extra damage over and above a weapon’s normal damage is not multiplied.

Is the +1 morale bonus on weapon damage rolls from a bard's inspire courage ability considered extra damage? Or is it part of the original damage that gets rolled more than once?

Curmudgeon
2009-08-29, 11:48 PM
A 123

Kaorti resin weapons are not standard items, as they're made from material out of the living bodies of Kaorti, so this question doesn't have a simple answer. You must first find a Kaorti armorer; whether that's even possible is up to your DM. Further details are available here (http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dnd/re/20031014a).

Curmudgeon
2009-08-29, 11:52 PM
A 124

You've confused the rules, so your question can be best handled by starting with the correct rule.
Multiplying Damage

Sometimes you multiply damage by some factor, such as on a critical hit. Roll the damage (with all modifiers) multiple times and total the results. Note: When you multiply damage more than once, each multiplier works off the original, unmultiplied damage.

Exception: Extra damage dice over and above a weapon’s normal damage are never multiplied. A constant +1 bonus is not from dice and thus would be multiplied on a critical hit.

Gralamin
2009-08-30, 12:05 AM
A 124

You've confused the rules, so your question can be best handled by starting with the correct rule. A constant +1 bonus is not from dice and thus would be multiplied on a critical hit.

A 124 Contention

The Critical rules have never actually been that clear. The Magic Items rules agrees with Multiplying damage, but the weapons rules state:

Critical
The entry in this column notes how the weapon is used with the rules for critical hits. When your character scores a critical hit, roll the damage two, three, or four times, as indicated by its critical multiplier (using all applicable modifiers on each roll), and add all the results together.

Exception: Extra damage over and above a weapon’s normal damage is not multiplied when you score a critical hit.

And the Critical Hits sidebar on page 140 of the PHB is in agreement with the Weapon Rules.

Fax Celestis
2009-08-30, 12:08 AM
A 124 Contention

The Critical rules have never actually been that clear. The Magic Items rules agrees with Multiplying damage, but the weapons rules state:


And the Critical Hits sidebar on page 140 of the PHB is in agreement with the Weapon Rules.

A124 Clarification While the SRD contains the disparity, the actual books do not.

Gralamin
2009-08-30, 12:12 AM
A124 Clarification While the SRD contains the disparity, the actual books do not.

A124 Clarification

Page 140 of the PHB and Page 126 of the PHB both give Critical rules of "Extra damage over and above a weapon’s normal damage is not multiplied when you score a critical hit." According to these rules, things like Power attack would not be multiplied.

The multiplication rules, on Page 134 give the dice ruling, and the Magic Item Rules in the DMG (Edit: Page 222) similarly give the Dice ruling.

Curmudgeon
2009-08-30, 12:57 AM
A124 Clarification

Page 140 of the PHB and Page 126 of the PHB both give Critical rules of "Extra damage over and above a weapon’s normal damage is not multiplied when you score a critical hit." Actually you left off a bit. The excerpts from "Weapon Qualities" on page 126 and the "Critical Hits" sidebar on page 140 are identical:
Exception: Extra damage over and above a weapon’s normal damage, such as that dealt by a sneak attack or the special ability of a flaming sword, is not multiplied when you score a critical hit. Given that those extra damage examples happen to both be from extra dice, this doesn't contradict the primary rule for multiplying damage given on page 134.

Killer Angel
2009-08-30, 04:03 AM
Q 125 (D&D 3.5)

The Spellguard of Silverymoon (PrC Faerun setting) can cast any personal-range defensive arcane spell on another character. "Defensive spell" is one that improves AC, improves ST or increases HP.
"Alter Self" qualifies? he can be used to increase AC...

Curmudgeon
2009-08-30, 04:40 AM
A 125

Yes, but only if the form chosen actually qualifies as a defensive spell at the time of casting.

Pain~less
2009-08-30, 07:40 AM
Q 126

Can a neutral cleric of a neutral deity cast spells that have an alignment descriptor ? Specifically, bless water. Thank you.

Sallera
2009-08-30, 10:32 AM
A 126

Yes. The only restriction is on casting spells with an alignment opposed to yours. As a neutral cleric, you suffer from no such restrictions.

Human Paragon 3
2009-08-30, 11:37 AM
Q127 Which magic items continue to function when you're polymorphed into a tiny monsterous scorpion?

HCL
2009-08-30, 12:58 PM
Q128

The Illumian Power sigil description reads


On attaining 2nd level in any class, an Illumian gains a second different power sigil, and the bonus granted by each power sigil increases to +2. Depending on the combination of power sigils she chooses, an Illumian gains one or more extra special abilities (see Illumian Words, below).

So if I was an illumian warmage 4/cleric 1/mystic theurge 2 would I get

1 sigil at first level (Krau, improved sigil krau for my feat to qualify for mystic theurge)
1 sigil on getting my second warmage level (Vaul, and get the Vaulkrau special ability)
and a third sigil on getting mystic theurge 2 (Naen, and get both the Vaulnaen and Naenkrau special abilities)

or am I capped at 2 sigils? I am confused because it says
"a second sigil" implying you can only get 2, but "an Illumian gains one or more special abilities" implies you can get more than one special ability from getting 3+ sigils and combining words.

Olo Demonsbane
2009-08-30, 04:45 PM
Q129; D&D 3.5 Is there an arcane casting class based on Charisma with high Fortitude and high Will saves? Barring that, is there a high Fortitude prestige class that:
A) Requires 3rd or lower spells
B) Gives a CL at 1st level
C) All other prerequisites can be met by 4th level in Sorcerer

Curmudgeon
2009-08-30, 05:23 PM
A 127

Assuming you start as a medium size humanoid, no item occupying a standard body slot would continue to function. A few specialized items not tied to specific parts of your physical form, such as Ioun Stones or a Gemstone of Fortification, would be about all you could use after the transformation.

Curmudgeon
2009-08-30, 05:33 PM
A 129

The Savage Bard (http://www.d20srd.org/srd/variant/classes/variantCharacterClasses.htm#bardVariantSavageBard) variant meets your requirements.

Xyk
2009-08-30, 07:07 PM
Q130 D&D 3.5
In the Tome of Battle, the Martial Study feat grants one martial maneuver as long as you meet the pre-requisites. Mountain Tombstone Strike is a ninth level maneuver but has no pre-requisites, does this mean a level 1 character could take this maneuver?

Foryn Gilnith
2009-08-30, 07:12 PM
A130

As per Tome of Battle page 39, the maximum level of manuever you can know is determined by initiator level. So, although the "Prerequisites" line is blank, Mountain Tombstone Strike (like most 2nd-level maneuver) does indeed have a prerequisite - Initiator Level 17.

Olo Demonsbane
2009-08-30, 07:14 PM
Q129, Clarified: The class must have full spellcasting, such as a wizard or sorcerer. 9th level spells by level 17 or 18 please.

Curmudgeon
2009-08-30, 07:28 PM
Q 128

Illumians get only 2 sigils.
I am confused because it says "a second sigil" implying you can only get 2, but "an Illumian gains one or more special abilities"
A combination of 2 sigils makes an Illumian word, and that word provides one or more special abilities. The description is consistent with having a limit of 2 sigils.

powerdemon
2009-08-30, 08:18 PM
Q 131
Is there a table for how far creatures can go in a days travel if they have a speed over 40ft?

Milskidasith
2009-08-30, 08:20 PM
Q 132

Since Shuriken are weapons, but cost the same amount as ammunition, can they be wielded to gain abilities that work while carrying them, like defending, at 1/50th price?

Foryn Gilnith
2009-08-30, 08:26 PM
A131

No, but it can be simply extrapolated. Convert feet to squares, and look at the listed values. 3 square movement gets 12 miles, 4 square move gets 16, 6 square gets 24, etc. The number of miles moved per day by a creature of N-foot speed is equal to N*4/5 miles. Of course, that implies about 4 hours of walking; which even a non-forced march exceeds.

Olo Demonsbane
2009-08-30, 08:29 PM
A132 Yes, that is correct.

Jack Zander
2009-08-30, 09:36 PM
Q133

How does Spectral Hand (http://www.d20srd.org/srd/spells/spectralHand.htm) work? Does it have a fly speed or something? Does it hover next to you, then travel up to medium range in one turn to deliver a touch spell, then return in the same round? If it has a fly speed, do you need to direct it with an action? The spell is very vague.

Q134

If I play a gestalt character with the spell Animate Dead on both sides of the gestalt, do the two spells work separately for my maximum number of HD controlled? Do I effectively double my number of undead I am able to control?

Curmudgeon
2009-08-30, 10:05 PM
A 133

Does it have a fly speed or something? Does it hover next to you, then travel up to medium range in one turn to deliver a touch spell, then return in the same round?
The manifestation of Spectral Hand can move anywhere within range and attack. It does not return until it succeeds on an attack or the hand either goes out of range or out of sight, so it stays where it is until you mentally will it elsewhere. This follows the standard rules.
Direct or Redirect a Spell

Some spells allow you to redirect the effect to new targets or areas after you cast the spell. Redirecting a spell requires a move action and does not provoke attacks of opportunity or require concentration.

Gralamin
2009-08-30, 10:20 PM
There's an awful little Stating which system going on here. Please remember to mark which system your talking about.


Q134

If I play a gestalt character with the spell Animate Dead on both sides of the gestalt, do the two spells work separately for my maximum number of HD controlled? Do I effectively double my number of undead I am able to control?

A134
There is no RAW answer on this subject, and its up to the GM. I imagine it works similarly to having a Wizard/Cleric/Mystic Theruge with Animate Dead on each side, However.

Q 135 (3.5)
In the above situation (Wizard/Cleric/Mystic Theruge with Animate Dead on each side), would the class have a different "pool" of Undead HD they may control per class, or would that be a trait of the overall Character?

Forbiddenwar
2009-08-31, 12:06 AM
Q 135 (3.5)
In the above situation (Wizard/Cleric/Mystic Theruge with Animate Dead on each side), would the class have a different "pool" of Undead HD they may control per class, or would that be a trait of the overall Character?

A135

I'll take a crack at this and ask whats the difference?
Control 4 Hit dice per caster level so it would be, generally, the classes levels. However:
3 levels Wizard = 12
3 levels cleric = 12
3 levels Mystic = 12
= 36 hit dice controlled

9 level with classes all with casting ability character = 36 hit dice controlled.

Note that it doesn't matter if both the cleric and the wizard can cast the spell.

Gralamin
2009-08-31, 12:13 AM
A135

I'll take a crack at this and ask whats the difference?
Control 4 Hit dice per caster level so it would be, generally, the classes levels. However:
3 levels Wizard = 12
3 levels cleric = 12
3 levels Mystic = 12
= 36 hit dice controlled

9 level with classes all with casting ability character = 36 hit dice controlled.

Note that it doesn't matter if both the cleric and the wizard can cast the spell.

A135 Clarification
He has a different caster level for Cleric (Caster level for divine spells), and For Wizard (Caster Level for arcane Spells). Take for instance:
Wizard 4/Cleric 3/Mystic Theruge 3
Wizard CL of 7, Cleric CL of 6.

If the Pools are separate:
CL 7 *4 = 28
CL 6 *4 = 24
Total = 52

If the Pools are Combined:
4+3+3 = 10
10*4 = 40
Total = 40

A difference of 12 HD.

Olo Demonsbane
2009-08-31, 01:47 AM
Q129; D&D 3.5 Is there an arcane casting class based on Charisma with high Fortitude and high Will saves? Barring that, is there a high Fortitude prestige class that:
A) Requires 3rd or lower spells
B) Gives a CL at 1st level
C) All other prerequisites can be met by 4th level in Sorcerer


Q129, Clarified: The class must have full spellcasting, such as a wizard or sorcerer. 9th level spells by level 17 or 18 please.

Anything? Anyone?

Stegyre
2009-08-31, 09:29 AM
Q136
3.5, and specifically ToB:

The Child of Shadow stance (SH, pg. 76) grants concealment as long as a character moves at least 10' during the turn. My question is, how this is handled during the character's first 5' step?

For example, the character starts out in a threatened square and moves out, intending to move yet farther. In his turn, he will move 10' or more, but at the time he is triggering an AoO, he has not yet done so. Does he get the concealment benefit against AoO in that first 5' step?

(Edited for clarification.)

Human Paragon 3
2009-08-31, 10:54 AM
Q137 How many feet per round does an object (or charter) fall in free fall?

quick_comment
2009-08-31, 10:56 AM
Q138

What methods exist for adding paladin spells to a cleric's spell list?

Curmudgeon
2009-08-31, 11:08 AM
A 136

There is no benefit until after the 10' has been moved.

Stegyre
2009-08-31, 11:09 AM
Q139 (Edited to fix Q number -- thanks Crum.)
3.5, yet another ToB:

Crown of White Ravens (and similar devices for other disciplines) gives the user "use of a single [discipline] maneuver for which he meets the prerequisites." What does that really mean?

For a martial adept, does this mean they have one such maneuver that is always available for immediate use? (E.g., a character could make repeated Insightful Strike maneuvers every round, without any sort of "refreshing" maneuver.)

Or does it instead allow a martial adept to add one additional maneuver to their list of maneuvers that may be readied? (E.g., in the previous example, the adept does not normally know the Insightful Strike maneuver, but now he may prepare and execute it in the same manner as any other such maneuver.)

The first option seems overpowered, especially for an item that can be manufactured at CL 5 for only 1,500 gp.

Curmudgeon
2009-08-31, 11:13 AM
A 137

This was computed by the FAQ author, and you can read it there. A non-winged creature falls approximately 500' in the first round, reaching terminal velocity at the end of that round, and falls 1200' each round thereafter.

Winged creatures who fail to maintain their minimum forward speed stall (http://www.d20srd.org/srd/movement.htm#minimumForwardSpeed).

Gralamin
2009-08-31, 11:15 AM
A 129
I do not know of any Base classes that meet your conditions, but off the top of my head, Blood Magus (Complete Arcane) nearly meets your prerequisites. If you take it for only 5 levels, you lose no Caster Levels.


A 136
No. If The condition is to move 10 ft, the distance noted must be transversed before you get any benefit. The intention to move further doesn't matter, as the Attack of Opportunity could stop you from being able to move that far.

A137
In most circumstances you instantly hit the ground. However, the FAQ has an entry on this


How far does a character fall in a single round? If my
griffon-riding character falls off his mount 300 feet up, how
long do other characters have to catch him?
This ends up being both a rules and a physics question. The
short answer is, “In a single round, you fall far enough to hit
the ground in the vast majority circumstances that come up in
the game.”
Here’s the long answer: A falling character accelerates at a
rate of 32 feet per second per second. What that means is that
every second, a character’s “falling speed” increases by 32 feet.
The distance he falls in that second is equal to the average of
his falling speeds at the beginning of that second and at the end
of that second. Thus, during the first second he falls 16 feet (the
average of 0 feet and 32 feet, which are his speeds at the start
and end of that second). During the next second he falls 48 feet
(the average of 32 feet and 64 feet). He falls 80 feet during the
third second, 112 feet the fourth second, 144 feet the fifth
second, and 176 feet the sixth second. That’s a grand total of
576 feet fallen in the first round alone, hence the short answer
given above—the number of falls occurring in any campaign
longer than this is probably pretty small. For ease of play, you
could simply use 500 feet as a nice round number—it’s easier
to remember.
Of course, the character falls even farther the next round,
although acceleration soon ends due to the resistance of air on
the falling body (this is what’s called terminal velocity). If the
Sage remembers his high-school physics, terminal velocity for
a human body is roughly 120 mph (equivalent to a speed of
1,200 feet per round, or 200 feet per second); thus, the
character’s falling speed hits its maximum in the first second of
the second round. It’s safe to say that after 2 rounds the
character will have fallen nearly 2,000 feet, and will fall
another 1,200 feet per round thereafter.

Edit: Bah, Took to long to look up my sources and give correct quotes.

Random832
2009-08-31, 11:18 AM
A 137 not to rain on your RW-physics-parade, but...

Um, actually, the Planar Handbook EDIT: Manual of the Planes has rules for falling speed in normal gravity (since falling is how you get around in subjective directional gravity e.g. the plane of air) - I'll see if I can look it up later today. I think it was something like 150ft in the first round and 300ft in each round thereafter.

EDIT: Well, what do you know, it's in the SRD.


Characters on a plane with subjective directional gravity can move normally along a solid surface by imagining “down” near their feet. If suspended in midair, a character “flies” by merely choosing a “down” direction and “falling” that way. Under such a procedure, an individual “falls” 150 feet in the first round and 300 feet in each succeeding round. Movement is straight-line only. In order to stop, one has to slow one’s movement by changing the designated “down” direction (again, moving 150 feet in the new direction in the first round and 300 feet per round thereafter).

That this was for normal (as opposed to light or heavy) gravity strength is based on "The strength of gravity on a plane with this trait is the same as on the Material Plane". So therefore the speeds given apply to Material as well.

Conveniently, this matches the rate for stalled flying creatures, meaning that at least D&D physics is consistent with itself.

Curmudgeon
2009-08-31, 11:37 AM
A 138

Most Paladin spells are already on the Cleric spell list. Of those Paladin spells that aren't, you can pick up both Bless Weapon and Holy Sword with the Glory domain. The Competition domain picks up Zeal.

(Stegyre, you failed to notice the previous use of this question number.)

quick_comment
2009-08-31, 11:45 AM
138 extended
In particular, I want favor of the martyr and find the gap, neither of which are on the cleric list or a domain list.

Olo Demonsbane
2009-08-31, 11:50 AM
A138 Take (a) level(s) in the prestige paladin. This should grant you all the paladin spells on your class list.

Curmudgeon
2009-08-31, 11:57 AM
A 139
Prerequisite: Anyone can wear a crown of White Ravens, but to gain any benefit from it, a wearer must meet the prerequisite of the desired maneuver.

Effect: A person who has worn a crown of White Ravens for 24 hours gains the use of a single White Raven maneuver for which he meets the prerequisite. The maneuver can be of a martial adept level up to the highest level the item grants. Every maneuver has a required initiator level of (2*maneuver level - 1).
If you lack any martial adept levels, your initiator level is equal to 1/2 your character level. A martial adept would use their standard recovery method for the maneuver granted by the item.
Recovery: You cannot recover expended maneuvers in an encounter if you do not have levels in a martial adept class, so each of your readied maneuvers is usable once per encounter. You can recover your expended maneuvers outside combat with 5 minutes of exercise and meditation.

Curmudgeon
2009-08-31, 12:15 PM
Regarding A 137:

Um, actually, the Planar Handbook EDIT: Manual of the Planes has rules for falling speed in normal gravity (since falling is how you get around in subjective directional gravity e.g. the plane of air)
You'll note the use of scare quotes (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scare_quotes) around "falls" in your citation.
In this application, quotation marks are placed around a single word or phrase to indicate that the word or phrase does not signify its literal or conventional meaning. Since this movement isn't literal falling, its characteristics cannot be assumed to apply to actually falling speed.

Stegyre
2009-08-31, 12:26 PM
139 request for clarification
Crumudgeon: your answer proposes a middle path, which would be that the device grants an additional readied maneuver, which would then need to be refreshed normally (using whatever mechanic applies, depending on whether the character is crusader, swordsage, warblade, or non-adept). Thus, a fourth-level swordsage (5 maneuvers readied) would be able to have a sixth maneuver readied from the appropriate discipline (other prerequisites, for both initiator levels and prerequisite maneuvers also applying). Am I understanding you correctly?

As the number of "readied" stances are quite important, this is still powerful (and very useful: it's the equivalent of a feat+), but not overpowering, like I'd feared.

Q140
3.5 and of course, it's ToB day, all day:

According to ToB, "To initiate a maneuver or stance, you must be able to move."

(a) Can a character initiate a maneuver/stance while grappled? (I would say yes, for two reasons: first, some maneuvers and stances are specific to grappling; second, pinning is an additional option in grappling that restricts movement; if a pin "hold[s] your opponent immobile for one round" (SRD), the clear implication is that, absent a pin, the target is not immobile.

(b) Can a character initiate while pinned? (In light of the foregoing, I'd say no.)

(c) While entangled? (By RAW, I'd say this depends on whether the entanglement is anchored (no) or merely "impeding" movement (yes).

Fax Celestis
2009-08-31, 12:30 PM
Re:A137 The section in the SRD on tactical 3-dimensional combat includes rules for a stalled creature. Assuming that a falling creature with wings falls slower than one that does not is absurd. It is best to assume that a creature without a fly speed merely has an impossible 'minimum forward movement' speed required to prevent a stall.

Random832
2009-08-31, 12:34 PM
A 137 More

This is related to the fact that it is describing a directional gravity trait. However, since the strength of gravity is the same as on the Material plane, the speeds are still valid. Also, they are the same as the speeds described for stalling, and there's no real reason that wouldn't be the same speed. So Occam's Razor applies.

Unless you want to work out all new falling damage tables based on the same equations (while a damage cap is legitimate with terminal velocity, the current damage cap isn't consistent with the height at which you would reach terminal velocity before hitting the ground, nor is the fact that it doesn't vary by weight and size of the creature. Though, oddly, the linear dependence on height is consistent though it wouldn't seem so at first, because quadratic and square-root factors happen to cancel out.), real-world physics clearly doesn't apply to falling.

The simple fact is, the 150/300 rule is based on interpretation of other closely related rules, which is a stronger foundation for "RAW" than selectively applied real-world physics.

(though, those reworked falling damage tables could be a nice exercise - I'll see what I can put together; see you in homebrew)

Curmudgeon
2009-08-31, 12:46 PM
Assuming that a falling creature with wings falls slower than one that does not is absurd.
What part of aerial drag is absurd? That's how parachutes and gliders let you descend without that awful smash when you reach the ground.

Really, when was the last time you saw a conscious bird, even an injured one, fall to its death? Wings provide drag. Drag reduces your falling speed.

Curmudgeon
2009-08-31, 12:55 PM
A 140

a) Yes, but only if you succeed on the required check.
No Movement

You can’t move normally while grappling. You may, however, make an opposed grapple check to move while grappling. You don't actually have to move, but this is the RAW way you establish the requirement to initiate the maneuver/stance.

b) No, as you've correctly surmised.

c) Again, your reasoning is correct.

Obahai
2009-08-31, 12:58 PM
Q. 141

in D&D 3.5 are there rules for a druid to substitute an animal companion for a small earth or fire elemental? i think i've something for it before, and that it had a different level progression vs other elementals

Random832
2009-08-31, 01:02 PM
What part of aerial drag is absurd?

The fact that falling damage rules don't take it into account. I'd expect to see different damage caps for different weights and size categories, and maybe "winged creatures /parachute etc / are treated as one size category larger".

Real World physics does not apply. Everything falls at the same speed, no matter what weight, what size, and it's a short jump to it also not mattering whether or not they have wings.

Curmudgeon
2009-08-31, 01:07 PM
A 141 Yes.

See Complete Mage on page 33.

Curmudgeon
2009-08-31, 01:17 PM
Real World physics does not apply. Since this thread is about the RAW, let's start with a rules citation:
This section on world-building assumes that your campaign is set in a fairly realistic world. That is to say that while wizards cast spells, deities channel power to clerics, and dragons raze villages, the world is round, the laws of physics are applicable, and most people act like real people. The reason for this assumption is that unless they are told otherwise, this situation is what your players expect.
The FAQ author took this into consideration when answering the question, as I did in A 137.

OK, I'm done with this here. The question has been asked and answered, and I won't respond further in the "Simple Q&A" thread.

Stegyre
2009-08-31, 01:29 PM
A 140

a) Yes, but only if you succeed on the required check. You don't actually have to move, but this is the RAW way you establish the requirement to initiate the maneuver/stance.
clarification / further discussion warranted
In context, "move" seems to be used in two different senses:

(1) movement between squares: by RAW, a character must succeed in a grapple check to make this sort of movement, and he may then move at half his normal speed, taking everyone else in the grapple with him.

(2) "movement" as opposed to "immobilized": a pinned character is immobilized; otherwise, a character in a grapple is capable of "movement." Without a grapple check, this is not movement between squares but it would seem to be movement in the sense that it is used in ToB for initiating maneuvers. If this were not the case the Wolverine Stance (TC) would require a grapple check before it could be used.

The specific instance that lead to my question (Q140A), I am wondering if a character could use one of the "shadow jaunt" teleportation maneuvers to escape a grapple, without first performing a grapple check. Would that be RAW or anti-RAW?

Curmudgeon
2009-08-31, 01:44 PM
Regarding A 140:
To initiate a maneuver or a stance, you must be able to move. Initiating a maneuver or stance requires conscious control of your body ("normal movement"). While you're certainly flailing about while in a grapple, the opponent is impeding your attempt at moving your body as you desire. The rules make this requirement to initiate maneuvers/stances of the same nature as normal movement in a grapple, and that's how I arrived at my answer.
If this were not the case the Wolverine Stance (TC) would require a grapple check before it could be used.No, that's not correct. Remember, a stance remains in effect indefinitely after it's initiated, so you could initiate a Wolverine stance before engaging in a grapple, and receive the stance's benefit. But to initiate that (or any other) stance while already in a grapple, you need to meet the requirements for initiation, which are established by making the grapple check provided for in the rules.

Curmudgeon
2009-08-31, 01:58 PM
The specific instance that lead to my question (Q140A), I am wondering if a character could use one of the "shadow jaunt" teleportation maneuvers to escape a grapple, without first performing a grapple check. Would that be RAW or anti-RAW?
While in a grapple, the rules stipulate a very limited set of actions that you can perform. You don't get general standard or move actions, but the rules do permit movement if you succeed on a grapple check. I think the only Shadow Jaunt-type maneuvers you could use would be Shadow Blink (a swift action) and Shadow Stride (move action). The grapple check required to permit movement while grappling uses a standard action, so that rules out Shadow Jaunt itself.

IthilanorStPete
2009-08-31, 03:30 PM
Q142
part A: If I have a Long Arm graft on me, can I wield 1 quarterstaff in my 2 regular hands and wield another with the grafted arm/hand?
part B: If I can, will I be able to attack with the quarterstaff in my 2 regular arms?

Stegyre
2009-08-31, 03:35 PM
All 3.5 (but no ToB, for a change!)

Q143
Touchsight (psion, level 3):
"You generate a subtle telekinetic field of mental contact, allowing you to “feel” your surroundings even in total darkness or when your sight would otherwise be obscured by your physical environment. Your touchsight field emanates from you out to 60 feet. You ignore invisibility, darkness, and concealment, though you must have line of effect to a creature or an object to discern it.
As this is a "feel"-ing, telekinetic field, would it not expose all non-tactile illusions, including any mirror image, silent image, etc.?

Q144
This may not be a good RAW question, but I am at work designing new magic and psionic items, principally spell- or power-effect items. Assuming that the item is command word/thought activated or even use activated, would a UMD or UPD check be required to use it?

For example, an item that casts Sanctuary on demand (what a great way to keep sentries from being attacked): if it is a spell-trigger or spell-completion item, RAW indicates a UMD check would be required to use it, but can anyone use it (sans UMD check) if it is a command word item, instead?


EDIT:
The grapple check required to permit movement while grappling uses a standard action, so that rules out Shadow Jaunt itself.Excellent point. Since I'm limiting myself to 3rd level maneuvers, that's really the end of that question. :smallsmile:

Claudius Maximus
2009-08-31, 03:38 PM
A 144

No UMD check would be required to activate a command word item, provided you know the command word and there are no special restrictions.

Curmudgeon
2009-08-31, 06:38 PM
A 142 Maybe.

The usual procedure for getting a fiendish limb is to remove one of your existing limbs, so the answer would be a solid no for that case. Some demons or devils may grant a graft as an extra (instead of replacement) appendage, however.

Fiend Folio on page 211 does indicate that the arm can be use for weapon as well as natural attacks.
The grafted creature’s natural reach for attacks made with the arm or weapons held in the arm increases by 5 feet. Though it cannot take independent action, the arm can be used to make natural attacks, dealing damage based on the grafted creature’s size Assuming you had 1) the graft as an extra appendage, 2) an appropriate weapon for that arm (which would not include a 2-handed weapon like a quarterstaff), and 3) are willing to endure the multiweapon fighting penalties (-6 primary hand, -10 all other hands), then the answer is yes.

Curmudgeon
2009-08-31, 06:52 PM
A 143

Touchsight would not directly "expose" non-tactile illusions, but a discrepancy between what you have line of sight to and what you perceive with touchsight would allow a saving throw for interacting with those illusions.
Saving Throws and Illusions (Disbelief)

Creatures encountering an illusion usually do not receive saving throws to recognize it as illusory until they study it carefully or interact with it in some fashion.

A successful saving throw against an illusion reveals it to be false, but a figment or phantasm remains as a translucent outline.

A failed saving throw indicates that a character fails to notice something is amiss. A character faced with proof that an illusion isn’t real needs no saving throw. If any viewer successfully disbelieves an illusion and communicates this fact to others, each such viewer gains a saving throw with a +4 bonus. So 1) touchsight + 2) a conflicting visual impression + 3) a successful saving throw would expose an illusion. (Your eyes perceiving an image is no more proof that it exists than touchsight not perceiving something is proof that it doesn't exist. After all, touchsight will fail to detect an incorporeal creature even though it's really there. You still must succeed on your saving throw to firmly establish something as an illusion.)

Roland St. Jude
2009-08-31, 08:05 PM
Sheriff of Moddingham: By popular demand, I am closing the omnibus thread in favor of two separate threads. Enjoy.