View Full Version : ACF Question

Olo Demonsbane
2009-08-26, 09:19 PM
Does the Zhentarim Fighter ACF ability ("Extended Intimidation") work for Demoralization as well as standard intimidation?

The ability reads as follows:

A target successfully intimidated by a 5th level Zhentarim Soldier suffers lasting effects. Instead of ending when the Zhentarim Soldier leaves, as is normal for the Intimidate skill, the intimidation lasts for 24 hours after his departure. Thereafter, the target's attitude tword the Zhentarim Soldier switches to unfriendly, but a lingering fear remains. Whenever the Zhentarim Soldier returns to someone he has previously Intimidated, he gains a +4 bonus on his Intimidate check to re-establish the effect.

Even if the first part (A target...departure) doesnt work, does the bolded section apply?

EDIT: Bonus Question: What is the cost for a permanent Enlarge Person spell?

2009-08-28, 05:08 PM
I can't help with the intimidate stuff, but a permanencied enlarge person costs the following (if cast by an NPC Wizard, as I suppose you have in your mind)

Price for Enlarge Person Cast (1. Level Spell): CL 1 x 10 = 10 GP
Price for Permanency cast by a lvl 9 spellcaster (5. Level Spell) CL 9 x 50 GP + 5 x 500 (5 GP for each XP the Caster has to use) = 2950

10+2950= 2960 Goldpieces for a permanent enlarge person cast on yourself by a Level 9 Spellcaster (which is the minimum caster level for permanency). For the Enlarge Person part of the spell the spellcaster has voluntarily lowered his caster level to the minimum for Level 1 Spells, that is CL 1

Well, don't know if a spellcaster would do this (lower his caster Level just to save you a few bucks), because even though according to the rules it makes things cheaper for you, the spellcaster still has to memorize and cast the spell, regardless which caster level he uses...

If he does NOT want to reduce his or her casterlevel, it costs additional 80 GP, so the total sum in that case would be 3040 GP for enlarge person and permanency both cast at CL 9.

(See under Spell)

Foryn Gilnith
2009-08-28, 05:09 PM
Re-establish the effect. Demoralization is not the effect it refers to, nor was it necessarily there (and thus it cannot be RE-established)