PDA

View Full Version : D&D webcam game.

Forbiddenwar
2009-08-31, 10:09 PM
I'm turning to the bright people in the playground for free advice. One of my players is going to a conference for 2 weeks and instead of the usual activities when playing without a character, the group was interested in setting up a skype and/or webcam game.
Have any of you played D&D via skype or webcam or both? Iwas thinking of setting up VOIP skype so he can hear everything and a webcam set to the play mat so he can see the monitures.
Any advice how to use a webcam in this matter? I have Zero experience with webcams and near Zero experience with skype. Does skype have a webcam hosting system?

NecroPaladin
2009-08-31, 10:12 PM
Instead of Skype I would suggest IVisit. It was designed for more utilitarian, corporate purposes than Skype so it, in my opinion, does a better job of connecting multiple people. The one downside is that you have to make/host your own chatroom.

Johanas
2009-08-31, 10:15 PM
I have a player going away for a couple weeks too. I actually have experience with Skype gaming, it works well, if you have a laptop. Bring the laptop over to the table, and just full screen the image. I will have to get back to you on this, but one of my players got together with him and found a way to show his rolls on screen too. I will see if it was a program. Which I think it was.

Carden
2009-08-31, 10:34 PM
Skype has an add-on called dice roller that you can download. It allows dice rolls to be generated on screen after being typed in some format that escapes me at the moment. However, it is prone to doubling the rolls generated, for some odd reason.

Korivan
2009-09-01, 09:27 AM