PDA

View Full Version : Morality of Elemental Binding [ECS]

goken04
2009-09-05, 10:52 AM
I'm new to the Eberron Campaign Setting (still not actually having played it) and am trying to crib the airship idea for a non-Eberron game I'm running and I can't figure out the answer to these questions, despite scouring the ECS and online wikis:

What do the Elementals think of being bound? Are they willing participants? If so, why do these powerful extraplanar creatures serve humanoids like they are nothing more than horses? Are elementals bound against their wills? Wouldn't this draw the ire of not only the elemental bound, but all elementals who encounter the ships and note their kin enslaved to inferior humanoids?

Also, how big of an elemental is needed for binding to airships? Someone help a DM out!

kamikasei
2009-09-05, 10:55 AM
As far as I know, the elemental doesn't have to be intelligent.

Also, bear in mind that these same questions apply to golems (and further indicate that no, the elemental spirit doesn't have to be intelligent).

Project_Mayhem
2009-09-05, 11:01 AM
According to Magic of Eberron, theres a bunch of rogue Gnome academics who ask the same questions, and try to make friendly contact with elementals.

goken04
2009-09-05, 11:03 AM
As far as I know, the elemental doesn't have to be intelligent.

Also, bear in mind that these same questions apply to golems (and further indicate that no, the elemental spirit doesn't have to be intelligent).

OH! When it says that they bind Fire or Air Elementals, I just assumed they meant the statistical Fire Elemental (http://www.d20srd.org/srd/monsters/elemental.htm#fireElemental) or Air Elemental (http://www.d20srd.org/srd/monsters/elemental.htm#airElemental), both of which have Int scores. Are there non-Intelligent, living Elementals that can be used for binding? I'm really confused.

goken04
2009-09-05, 11:07 AM