PDA

View Full Version : 4E Assassins- Cool, or gamebreaking?

Nota Biene
2009-09-14, 07:38 PM
I'm not an expert number cruncher, but from what I have seen so far of assassins has been- terrifying. They seem better at maneuvering, guranteed pain round after round, infiltration, etc, then any other strikers we've seen before, and their secondary role of controller supports that pretty well.

Question- Did Wizards create something cool, or did they consign every rogue ever to "the guy who wishes he was an assassin (except occassionally when a few skills come up?"

Tiki Snakes
2009-09-14, 07:51 PM
I've only tried it out in one (tough) encounter so far, but the assassin certain seems like it'll be a laugh to play.

But it's not what i'd call a game-breaker, that's for sure. The damage is definately not out of line. Sure, it's nice to do something on a miss, but if you're chargin your big hit up for four rounds and then miss, you can only get so much comfort from 3d6 damage on it's own with no bonuses for the four rounds you just spent waiting to get those shrouds in place.

It is a class that will escape tpk pretty reliably though, because they are pretty suited to sneaking about. Which was lucky, frankly, in a two-person both-striker party against a tough encounter.

10hp +con at first level is not formiddable health levels.

Mauril Everleaf
2009-09-14, 08:07 PM
I actually looked at the Assassin and thought "kinda weak". Almost all of its powers have keywords that are often immunities (if I am remembering my MM correctly). Until some feats come out allowing partial damage for immune creatures, their regular attacks are going to be awesome or useless depending on the foe.

Their shrouds are kind of like Hunter's Quarry that you have to activate every round. If you plan on building them up on a target for their stacking effects, then it might be worth it, but using them as a constant bonus (like Curse or Quarry) they kinda lag.