PDA

View Full Version : Calling All Amateur Generals II: Sieges

Felixaar
2009-10-22, 05:36 AM
So, some of you might remember my last CAAG thread. Well, the comments put forth were devilishly useful in the end, and I thought I might run it again.

So the basic thing is this: I'm writing, and I know a little about medieval warfare and tactics, but Im no expert and the combination of fantasy elements obviously changes things. So, I put forth a scenario and I want you guys to pick a side - or both sides - and tell me exactly what you would do in the situation.

So, heah it iz!

Side A
Side A is the side under sieged. Their troops consist of...
4,800 men armed primarily with simple melee weapons - swords, spears, axes, maces etc, as well as shields. Swords are common due to extensive mining. All wear light bronze armour (breastplates, greaves, bracers, helmets).
800 men armed with ranged weapons, primarily bows, no armour.
Siege Engines - Primarily Trebuchets - and 800 men to run them.
800 Cavalry, armed as the 4,800 above.
800 men armed with pikes and wearing heavy armour.

Side B
Side B are those siegeing. Their troops consist of...
4,000 Pegasus Riders (able to fly, armed with simple weapons and light bronze armour.)
5,000 men armed with simple melee weapons and wearing heavy bronze armour.
3,000 men armed with simple melee weapons and wearing light bronze armour.
800 men armed with ranged weapons, primarily crossbows, light bronze armour.
Siege Engines - Primarily Catapults and Onagers, and 800 men to run them.
400 men, double-handed weapons, no armour. They know no fear.

The setting.