View Full Version : Massive damage

2009-11-22, 01:52 AM
In 4.0 is there a rule that if you take damage equal to your bloodied value that you die and is there sometype of save for it? i cant find it in the phb1 but i might just be missing it..

2009-11-22, 01:55 AM
No. I'll also mention here that it's 100% intentional that there is no such thing in 4e.

2009-11-22, 01:58 AM
It's not even really possible past the first couple of levels.

2009-11-22, 04:37 AM

The rule is that, while helpless, if you take damage equal to your bloodied value in a single hit, you die instantly. (No save.) (Coup De Grace, PGB, page 288) It rarely comes into play, as to be helpless, you need to be unconscious or a Flumph. The Flumphs were part of an April Fool's delve and therefore never used and usually if you're unconscious and attacked, you're at negatives so the rule ceases to matter. For magical sleep or poison sleep or camping sleep, ect... however, it does matter. The fact that Coup De Graces crit if they at all hit makes it a lot more likely too.

But while not helpless? No.