View Full Version : Sorcerers, Spell slots, and rope trick question.

2009-12-08, 01:52 PM
If my sorcerer is level 5 with 18 charisma (giving the +4 bonus), can he cast rope trick as an extended spell eating up his bonus 3rd level spell slot from charisma bonus? or does that spell slot not come into play until he knows a 3rd level spell?

2009-12-08, 01:55 PM
He cannot use it until he knows a third level spell.

If, in the level chart, it has a '0' instead of a dash for spells/day, that means they can use bonus spells if they have a high enough ability score. Paladin is an example.

2009-12-08, 01:56 PM
You cannot use bonus spells unless you have real spells of that level.*

*Exceptions apply. Basically, every partial caster gets "0" spells at a certain level, instead of - spells, which means they can use bonus spells if they have them. Psychic Warrior needs bonus power points to manifest at first level, which generally means they'll have 1 or 2 PP, which isn't much.

2009-12-08, 02:10 PM
No super safe resting for me until six then. Thanks for the speedy replies :D

2009-12-08, 02:19 PM
Technically, you can cast another one in the middle of the night. It counts as a disturbance, so you need an extra hour of rest, and that single spell slot wont be recharged, but if you *really* need to rest, that's one way to do it.

Also, be an elf. Trance your 4hrs in the rope trick, then just chill for the remainder without doing anything in particular.

2009-12-08, 02:58 PM
There's no need to jump through hoops. A Lesser Metamagic Rod of Extend (http://www.d20srd.org/srd/magicItems/rods.htm) is only 3000 GP - easily within reach of your WBL at 5th level.