PDA

View Full Version : Advice on running multiple games at once...

Reverent-One
2009-12-09, 09:41 PM
...with minimum amount of work for the DM.

Pretty much my situation is that there's a lot more people I know that want to play D&D around here than I can handle for one game, but most of them are on the inexperienced side, if not total newbies, so there's no good secondary DM. While I would be fine running a couple of games, unless I just do random dungeon crawls, that's going too much work for me to do. And while having two groups running effectively the same adventure would take care of the extra work, this isn't a solution as there would be discussion between the groups, ruining any surprise for the second group. Are there any clever DMs out there with advice for dealing with a situation like this?

Mando Knight
2009-12-09, 09:51 PM
Folders of documents and ready-made adventures, along with random dungeon generators, town generators, and a thirty to forty page document on a vast campaign world. Place the two parties on separate continents and run with it.

Behold_the_Void
2009-12-09, 10:17 PM
Teaching some of them to DM as you go in a co-DM sort of thing helps a lot too.

valadil
2009-12-10, 12:49 AM
...with minimum amount of work for the DM.
unless I just do random dungeon crawls,

Do random dungeon crawl. The other group can play something plotty. Basically write for one group at a time. Then put that group in a dungeon and give the other group something juicier. As an alternative to dungeons, premade campaigns will work out just fine.

The other option is to include both groups in the same game world, but never have them meet.

pffh
2009-12-10, 02:29 AM
How about running the same game for both groups and ask the group that plays it first not to tell the second group about anything sine they'll be playing it later?