View Full Version : [3.5] Half casters and spell completion items?

2009-12-10, 11:12 AM
Can a half-caster under level 4 (who "has no caster level") use spell completion items (like a Wand of Cure Light Wounds) because he has the spell on his list, or does he need a caster level to count as having spells on his list?

2009-12-10, 11:14 AM
Yeah. It's right there in the spell completion item-rules.

2009-12-10, 11:26 AM
You mean spell trigger items. Spell completion is what you get with scrolls, and a half caster who hasn't gotten his caster level yet can't use those. Spell trigger items such as wands can explicitly be used by such characters - they even give an example of a paladin below level 4 using a wand of CLW - but spell completion items like scrolls will have to wait.