PDA

View Full Version : good computer antiviruses?

Mystic Muse
2009-12-14, 10:18 PM
okay. My family recently got a new laptop. (no I will not be using it) and I was wondering, for their sake, what's a good antivirus?

they currently have Norton as that is pre-installed.

Escef
2009-12-14, 10:29 PM
AVG and Avira are both decent and free. Not a bad idea to have both running, what one misses the other will likely catch.

Anuan
2009-12-14, 10:34 PM
Avast!'s free version is the best virus protection I've ever, ever used.

Xallace
2009-12-14, 10:35 PM

Darn right! Avast! is most excellent.

GreyVulpine
2009-12-14, 11:08 PM
While I like free, Avast and AVG have problematic false positive detection rates. As a computer tech, I see those AVs pop up warnings on even simple software updates on more than one occasion. They're slightly better compared to Symantec's Norton, but not by much.

Free is nice if you just need a basic scan on a system you're fixing as a favor for somebody.

Lesser AV suites depend solely on virus signatures. Meaning, a virus has already been identified from the wild, isolated, tested and its behavior recorded before a signature is developed and passed along via update to the AV. This might take hours, even days/weeks. Not bad, but not good either.

I run ESET's NOD32 myself. A few years back, it was rated in the top 3, along with Kaspersky. both of them employ signature detection as well as heuristic detection, meaning even wild viruses will have a chance of tripping its detection by the aspect of behaving like a virus. I liked NOD32 because it had a smaller memory footprint, ran fast, and didn't slow down my other applications while it ran in the background (compared to Norton).

Don't take my word for it though, do some research. I recommend checking out AV-comparative's website (www.av-comparatives.org), and looking at their latest report (http://www.av-comparatives.org/images/stories/test/ondret/avc_report24.pdf).

Mystic Muse