PDA

View Full Version : [4e] Let us have a poll: easiest class for newbies for each role?

Gamerlord
2009-12-19, 06:50 PM
Out of curiosity, for each role, what is the easiest class for a newbie ? Let us have a poll!

Leaders:
Artificer (2)
Bard (3)
Cleric (13)
Warlord (4)
Ardent(1)
Shaman (1)

Strikers:
Ranger (13)
Avenger (1)
Barbarian(7)
Warlock(2)
Rogue(4)
Sorcerer(7)
Monk(1)
Assassin(1)

Defenders:
Fighter(16)
Warden (3)
Paladin (3)
Swordmage (2)

Controllers:
Wizard(7)
Invoker(6)
Druid(6)
Psion(2)
Seeker(2)

The Glyphstone
2009-12-19, 06:55 PM
I'm a newbie, and I've had a blast with my Dragon Sorcerer. Literally, since every power I have except Acid Orb is a Close Blast or Close Burst, and my 'tactics' consist of finding the point on the map where (# of enemies covered by 3x3 grid is maximized and > # of allies covered by said grid).

So my vote's for Sorcerer, since being a Dragon Sorcerer means my survivability is almost Defender-level letting me focus on killing stuff. A Wild Sorcerer might not be newbie-friendly since it's so random, and I don't know about Storm or Cosmic.

Thajocoth
2009-12-19, 06:55 PM
I vote for all of them as easiest except Cleric and Paladin.

Gralamin
2009-12-19, 06:56 PM
Cleric, Ranger, Paladin, Wizard.

Cleric, because they are very straight forward with base builds.
Ranger, because they are nearly impossible to screw up.
Paladin, because their marking mechanic is easy to learn and see the use of.
Wizard, because they are in the PHB.

Aron Times
2009-12-19, 06:59 PM
Defender: Fighter
Striker: Ranger
Leader: Cleric
Controller: None

All Player's Handbook 1 classes. Note that "easy to play" doesn't mean weak. Until the November errata, fighter outdamaged everyone in terms of DPR (damage per round), with rangers coming in a close second.