PDA

View Full Version : Strange laptop problem - tech help needed!

Shikton
2010-01-06, 05:36 AM
Right, this little problem confuses me. My neighbour has a laptop where mouse clicks don't work when the computer boots up, but after pushing ctrl+alt+del it works again all of a sudden. That's all I do to make it work. But it bugs the hell out of me that I can't figure out what the problem is!

Now, I'm not too tech savvy myself, but I tried uninstalling loads of useless software that Acer cram their computers with, turned off a few startup programs, updated drivers and cursed at the damn thing. Nothing worked.

Anybody have any ideas as to what this could be, and how to fix it? Other than format c::smallsmile:

KuReshtin
2010-01-06, 06:42 AM
Is this problem on both the internal mousepad/trackpoint and n external mice, or is it just on the internal mouse?
Is it just the mouse keys that doesn't work, so you can still move the cursor around, or doesn't the cursor move at all?

Considering it starts working when you hit ctrl+alt+del, there's nothing mechanically faulty with the mouse buttons or the connection between the mouse buttons and the system board.
If you just leave the machine standing for a few minutes, do you still have the problem (just so it's not just that the driver isn't loading properly, and it takes a while for it to initialize)?

Don Julio Anejo
2010-01-06, 11:04 AM
Stupid and obvious question, but... If you're talking about the touchpad, is it enabled? There should be a pair of keys, something like Fn+F5 which enables/disables it. It may be off by default.

Shikton
2010-01-06, 12:48 PM
It's enabled. The cursor moves around, but clicking on things doesn't work until I've pushed ctrl alt del.

Haven't tried with an external mouse.

EDIT: And leaving the laptop on for a while doesn't work either apparently. :smallfrown:

lesser_minion
2010-01-07, 12:42 PM