PDA

View Full Version : Half ooze template?

kemmotar
2010-02-20, 10:10 PM
Hey guys, this is my first time venturing into hombrewing territory so I'm not sure if it's good form to ask opinions on how to stat something out without giving some base. If not I'll head over to the gameplay thread, it seemed to me more thematically appropriate to start here though. Any and all help is appreciated.:smallsmile:

So here goes. My DM and I came up with a fun idea which invovles me playing a half ooze character. This originated from a running gag in our games where the DM threatens to turn me into an ooze. However, since an actual ooze would be more disrupting to the party with its low speed and no intelligence we thought it might be fun without being much of a problem to the party. Our games with that DM are not really serious and more fun oriented so there shouldn't be much of a problem with appearance etc.

On the other hand I'm very bad at balancing and choosing abilities when creating monsters etc (probably because I haven't had any any serious practice). Thus I turn to you for help.

As to the origin of a half ooze, that will be left to the DM and we can assume it's going to be something like "a wizard did it". The main trait of an ooze probably is immunity to crits and precision damage, though looking at the warforged it shouldn't be a problem LA wise. Some premises, if possible I'd like it be of a playable LA (1-3), recognisable as vaguely humanoid and not too weak, though I have no idea where I should start and how not to gimp the template or make it too overpowered (if such a thing is possible with an ooze[?]).

Any ideas?

The Dark Fiddler
2010-02-20, 10:25 PM
I think there was such a template somewhere... can't recall where though.

If you don't mind having a race instead of a template, I might take a crack at it. Sounds fun. :smallamused:

DragoonWraith
2010-02-20, 10:27 PM