PDA

View Full Version : [Pathfinder] Wands from prohibited schools



reefwood
2010-02-22, 10:36 PM
I have seen this entry in the Wizards section:


A wizard who prepares spells from his opposition schools must use two spell slots of that level to prepare the spell. For example, a wizard with evocation as an opposition school must expend two of his available 3rd-level spell slots to prepare a fireball. In addition, a specialist takes a 4 penalty on any skill checks made when crafting a magic item that has a spell from one of his opposition schools as a prerequisite. A universalist wizard can prepare spells from any school without restriction.

But what about a Wizard who uses a wand from a prohibited school? I thought I read somewhere that it uses up 2 charges, but now I can't find that info. Can you not use a wand from a prohibited school?

How about a scroll or staff?

reefwood
2010-02-26, 12:24 PM
Any ideas?

Saph
2010-02-26, 12:30 PM
As far as I can tell, you can use it, but I haven't checked that section of the SRD thoroughly.

reefwood
2010-02-26, 01:53 PM
As far as I can tell, you can use it, but I haven't checked that section of the SRD thoroughly.

Thanks Saph. I did some poking around on the Paizo messageboard, and they seem to agree. No penalty with magic items from prohibited schools.

I wonder where I came up with the idea of 2 charges per wand use from a prohibited school? The Beta? Or maybe I just imposed that over from the spell preparation penalty (2 spell slots for a prohibited school spell).

Anyway, if I do come across anything that says otherwise, I'll be sure to post it here.

Starbuck_II
2010-02-26, 02:10 PM
Or maybe I just imposed that over from the spell preparation penalty (2 spell slots for a prohibited school spell).

Anyway, if I do come across anything that says otherwise, I'll be sure to post it here.

Most likely you assumed same penalty as spell slots.