View Full Version : Pathfinder shapechange help

2010-02-23, 07:29 AM
Im playing a druid and the rules for shape changing are confusing to me

i need help understanding the exact rules

do my items still meld
can i still not use weapons
and things like that

please help the rules i find in the core book are very vague

2010-02-23, 02:55 PM
Look in the "Magic" chapter (it comes before the "Spells" chapter) for the rules for the Polymorph school. This is where most of what you need can be found.

Yes, your items meld. Continuous items continue to function but items that require activation cannot be activated.

For the most part, you cannot use weapons. If you dropped the weapon first and then changed into something with hands (ape) you might be able to pick it back up and wield it - that would probably be up to your DM but its worth a shot (I may want to try that myself - I play a PF Druid as well).

Let me know if you have other specifc questions but the general rules for Polymorph should clear most if it up.

2010-02-23, 03:48 PM
do my items meld when i turn in to an elemental to ?

2010-02-23, 04:16 PM
doesn't matter what you shapechange into, if your wearing or carrying it (think backpack) it melds into your new form unless your new form can also wear or carry it. so elemental form would probably meld in just about everything.