PDA

View Full Version : Options for my character (3.5)

Just_Ice
2010-02-25, 03:22 PM
Ladies and Gentlemen, let me tell you a story.

I have a tight group of friends which I started D&D with, playing 4E for the past two summers. This year, at university, I started playing 3.5 with some other friends and felt the lack of structure made for a quicker, better game. That's just me, but ehn.

Excited, I convinced the folks back home to start playing 3.5, and they agreed. No problems there. Both myself and my friend who had been the DMs before were growing tired of DMing for everyone and wanted to play for once, and when our other buddy told us he was excited about the story he wanted to tell, we kind of got evil grins.

Basically, he doesn't understand 3.5 very well. Knowing this, I set out to make a preposterous character because I thought he'd rubber stamp it since I roll under 10 two thirds of the time anyways. So, I set out to make a character in a loose model of GaoGaiGar. Essentially, I wanted detaching oversized spike gauntlets, double plate and as well as a double-oversized silver hammer in one hand with a regular tiny-stake in the other.

Needless to say I bent the rules more than a little. He's fun, he can barely move (without the psion casting skate), and a cannonball bounced off my armour. It's pretty awesome, and 18 str + two-weapon proficiency means I'm attacking at my BAB. I had to use the level 4 stat boost to get 13 dex, though.

Now, here's where I run into problems. I rolled stats, and although I (while cheating) got that build to go, I basically can't use any class features (paladin is crazy MAD, of course).

So yeah, here's the basic stats:

Maxwell, Human Paladin 5

Str 18
Dex 13
Con 10
Int: 9
Wis 9
Cha 7

Feats:
Monkey Grip
Two-weapon Proficiency
Oversized Weapon Proficiency (I think this was from a SRD 20 book meant for 3.0)