View Full Version : Mage: The Awakening -- Paradox

2010-03-19, 11:19 AM
If you mitigate paradox dice when casting vulgar spells down to 0, does paradox still get a chance dice?


A mage casts a vulgar spell for which he has a rote of (-1 dice), and uses his dedicated magical tool for (-1 dice.) He has a gnosis of 3 so his base Paradox dice pool is 2. Nothing further increases this so since his base dice are two, and his paradox mitigation is two, that leaves 0 dice. Chance dice? Then backlash if any successes rolled?

2010-03-19, 12:54 PM
Nevermind, I figured it out. The paradox table lists rules for dramatic failure on a paradox roll, so it must have a chance dice capability.

2010-03-19, 05:55 PM
Yup. Vulgar spells always have bare minimum 1/10 chance to paradox.