PDA

View Full Version : To DM, or not to DM, that is the question.

Cealocanth
2010-04-15, 09:41 PM
Hi, I'm not new to DnD but this is the first time I'm actually considering sitting down and playing it. (I'm a big fan of fantasy RPGs and make and understand most DnD jokes thrown at me. I'm a geek without being a geek.) I am considering if i want to be the DM or not.

I have NO expierence under my belt but I have a head for storytelling and have a head for numbers. I also like to roleplay my own character. ( I am a player in IFGS, a LARP.) What should I do playgrounders?

Emerald
2010-04-15, 09:53 PM
Well, I'm new at the DM'ing myself.

What made me decide to 'go for it', was the lack of good story among the group I played with and the lack of fun we were having. So I threw my hat in the ring.

So you have a story?
Do you know who you are playing with and the grief they will give you?
Do you have the main books and what edition are you playing?
And is it fun?

No matter what the game or how good the story, if it's not fun you might as well burn it.:mitd:

ReluctantDragon
2010-04-15, 09:56 PM
Were I in your position, I would give it the simplest of tries. In the potential group, offer to run a one shot game. You can decide how close to the rules of actual D&D you want to stick. You have the option of running it by the book, or what would appeal to me were I in your shoes, a free-form game where its roleplay oriented and D&D flavoured. The idea of this type of game is let the player's imagination run wild and just enjoy collaborative storytelling in that atmosphere. If you find yourself enjoying it, begin the slow process of learning the rules(slow in order to fully understand them) and start creating characters, as this is a great way to understand the effects of the rules towards the players.

My couple o'kb.

Vitruviansquid
2010-04-15, 09:57 PM
The way I got into DM'ing was by playing in a group where I was dead certain I could be a better DM than our DM... >_>