PDA

View Full Version : 4e Minion rule for 3.5 vs. CR?

veovius
2010-04-26, 07:11 PM
Hey all...
I played 4e for the first time a couple weeks ago, and I ran into the minion-have-1hp rule for the first time. And I LOVED it. One problem I've had in running, say, Star Wars Revised, is when Jedi face off against a horde of stormtroopers and you're stuck for 4 hours grinding away at them. This way, a party of 4 blew threw around 20 kobolds in about 30 minutes.

How does this translate to 3.5? I'm planning on running a very martial campaign soon, and I'd love to use this rule here. How would that affect CR ratings of creatures? I'm totally new to DMing 3.5 (I've DMed SWR a lot, and Palladium), but I'm a long time player. Some advice would be awesome.

Runestar
2010-04-26, 07:28 PM
I am not sure if minion rules translate well to 3e.

At first glance, magic missile or acid fog would be very strong, letting you take down 5 minions per shot (no attack roll or save). You have fighters with multiple attacks and cleave (unlike in 4e, where everyone has only 1 attack/round).

It seems like it might also make damage spells more useful, and battlefield control less so (no point glitterdusting a mook who is going to die next turn anyways).

Mando Knight
2010-04-26, 08:12 PM
Give them the same immunity to miss/save damage, and they should serve well.

Gametime
2010-04-26, 08:43 PM
As pointed out, the higher prevalence of automatic damage in 3.5 makes the 1-hit point minion less threatening. One potential fix would be to have them make a 4e-style saving throw any time they take damage; on a 10 or higher, they live. Alternately, tie the saving throw to actual 3.5 saves; Fortitude probably makes the most sense, although any of the three could be justified. You could even have distinct saves for different types of attacks, although at that point you're probably over-complicating what is meant to be a very simplistic enemy mechanic.