PDA

View Full Version : Beguiler/Ranger Crossbreed

JLighter
2010-05-04, 01:37 AM
Hey, there. Given that you lot are rather helpful when it comes to new players, I figured I'd put this out there and get some recommendations. I'm fairly new to D&D, and I'm trying something new out in a campaign my friend is running this summer. Theme seems to be vaguely Norse, and rumor has it we're starting at level 4. I was thinking of doing a Beguiler/Ranger hybrid.

So far, I've locked that I want to cross Beguiler with the Non-Spellcasting variant of Ranger from Complete Warrior. Given a level 4 start, I was thinking about an even split, with an Archery combat style. Playing a Half-Elf, and I may end up looking at Arcane Archer later, but that's just a maybe. I've already noted the following:
http://community.wizards.com/go/thread/view/75882/19872218/-_The_New_Beguiler_Handbook_-_2008
as a good resource. Anything else you kindly folk could recommend for this particular build? Stat allotments (thinking Int/Dex > Cha/Con > Wis/Str at present) or feat selections?

Pluto
2010-05-04, 02:00 AM
What sources are available?

My first impulse is to say 1-2 levels ranger, the rest Beguiler will be your best bet.

This will raise the caps on the Ranger's key skills, provide its defining abilities (Favored Enemy, proficiencies, Track, error-free access to Ranger spells via wands, maybe Rapid Shot) and won't cut into Beguiler spellcasting too hard.

I'd avoid Arcane Archer. It does what it promises worse than the base classes you'd use to get in.

The problem you might face with this combination is that levels in Beguiler do very little to improve the Ranger's shtick (shooting arrows at things) and levels in Ranger don't do anything to improve the Beguiler's abilities (casting enchantments and illusions). Depending on the books available, we might be able to meld the concepts in a way that lets the classes complement each other a bit better.

Greenish
2010-05-04, 02:20 AM