PDA

View Full Version : [3.5] Help Selecting Powers (and Building) an Ardent

balistafreak
2010-05-04, 10:01 PM
Yes, here's yet another one of my "help me build" this threads.

Right now I've created and archived a divine caster, an Incarnate, and am already making great progress into an arcane caster. A Warlock I'm sure practically builds itself. I'm delaying a melee Tome of Battle build until much later, and eventually I'm going to make an Artificer build to see exactly what I've been missing in terms of magic items, due to my obsession with Vow of Poverty misreadings. (Yes, I already have a thread open on that right now. Shoot me.) Right now I have my eyes set on building a psionic character, yet I have little experience with psionics...

The first thing I knew when I started was that I wanted to (ab)use Monastic Training and Tashalatora to grant the psionic character Monk AC bonuses, unarmed damage, and flurry progression as if he was a full Monk. After reading up on the various psionic classes, I highlighted Psionic Warrior and Ardent as two characters with good BAB to eventually build into a Psionic Gish-type - no base psionic class with full BAB exists as far as I can tell, not one that's good at any rate. Some further reading made me lean towards Ardent, due to its higher amount of PP to throw around, making it more psionic than melee.

My impression of psionics was that it was like MMO casting - you have a pool of points that gets spent through various methods. The harder the method, the more powerful the effect, and that all methods were available at any given time; no "fire-and-forget missiles" like the Vancian system. I walked in knowing that the hardest part would be picking the psionic powers.