PDA

View Full Version : Asia In The Playground!

Rogue 7
2010-05-07, 12:59 PM
Seeing as how a thread specifically about Japan is out, we can discuss the wide range of Asia here- and there's certainly a lot to discuss, given as it's got, what, almost half the world's population?

The old Japan Thread

Rogue 7

Wherein we can discuss all various and sundry things about the Land of the Rising Sun. Well, except anime and manga. We've got a thread for that.

So, I'm studying abroad here in Japan. I'm in Funabashi, which is in Chiba prefecture, just to the east of Tokyo. Been here a bit more than a month, and here until July. I love it- the food's great, the people are interesting, and the language is actually fun to learn!

Note that this thread was inspired from mine and TerraOblivion's discussion about her travel plans degenerating into random chitchat about this place, which was also starting to spill out into the main Anime discussion thread.

はなしましょう!

TerraOblivion

And as always when a discussion moves from a private conversation into a thread or from one thread it was derailing into another there is some awkwardness in the beginning.

I do look forward to going, however. Not only is it the country where most of the entertainment i experience on a daily basis comes from, it is also a country i have found has some of the best food around. To me Japanese is all the way up there with Indian and Italian in terms of how tasty it is and that is quite a feat. Also being in China has shown me that sakura are the prettiest trees on the planet and there is a reason why they are also called Japanese cherry trees and not Chinese ones. So yeah, i have become a lot more weeabo while staying in China.

Rogue 7

Shame you're not going in spring, when the actual Sakura trees are blooming. That's another thing I'll have to throw up on the photobucket when I finally get all these damn pictures uploaded.

Nameless

I was Japanese once.