PDA

View Full Version : advice on bans, and a query about arcane archers

newbie4life
2010-05-15, 12:12 PM
greetings!

i am a novice dm working with CORE only, and a few of the variant rules on d20srd (assume all of them for simplicity?)

my players are all equally new, but do not lack cleverness and the ability to break things... what should i ban ahead of time to stop the most egregious exploits?

arcane archers... how good IS the imbue arrow ability? can you staple an antimagic field to a hostile spellcaster? does it follow him? can use turn an arrow into a spell trigger for trap the soul? could you do that even if you weren't an arcane archer?

thanks in advance!

Edwin
2010-05-15, 12:17 PM
The simple answer; tell your players to participate in a reasonable fashion. You're there to have fun, and that's hard to do when one person exploits a spell, feat, trick or whatever.

Advanced answer? Dude, there's tons. Things like Wish can easily be used to break the game, though that's high level. Anyone playing a spellcaster could potentially mess up the fun for, for example, the party fighter.

Really, there's to much overall to ban it all, unless you wanna spend hours looking through every odd bit of rules. Limiting yourself to core helps, but by no means does it exclude cheese.

Once again, just be good sports about it, and looking your friends sheets over before the campaign starts is never a bad idea. :smallwink:

Pluto
2010-05-15, 12:21 PM
greetings!

i am a novice dm working with CORE only, and a few of the variant rules on d20srd (assume all of them for simplicity?)

my players are all equally new, but do not lack cleverness and the ability to break things... what should i ban ahead of time to stop the most egregious exploits?
Like Edwin says, there's too much that can be exploited to solve the problem with blanket bans. The most overt problems can emerge through shapeshifting and Calling effects.