PDA

View Full Version : 4e monks

DeMouse
2010-05-16, 09:43 PM
Hi there guys,

im a complete noob and am just about to join my first campagn which was sposed to be 3.5 but the rest of the group (who are far more experienced) seem to be swinging and say that it migth end up being 4e after all.

i have read enough stuff to understand 3.5 relativly well and if we still do that i am going to play as a warlock, but if they do 4e instead i have decided that i will play monk.

so what sort of things should i be thinking about for a 4e monk if that is what ends up happening?

Meta
2010-05-17, 04:28 AM
Monks are not the easiest class to play for a first timer. Ki foci and full discipline are a bit tricky and the tactical considerations for a class that's always moving are done most skillfully if you know what the other player's characters are capable of and that'll take awhile if you haven't played before. It can certainly be done, but what attracted you to the monk in the first place?

demidracolich
2010-05-17, 10:16 AM
The psionics classes in general are not very easy to play. I guessing your party needs a striker so your are playing a monk. Monks are not the easiest striker to play. Also are you planning going centered breath or stone fist? What level?

Cogidubnus
2010-05-17, 02:05 PM
This thread's having about as much luck in terms of replies as mine on unarmed combat XD Kudos to the two of you who have tried to help though.

Excession
2010-05-17, 03:52 PM
The question is a bit vague. Are there any specific things you want to know about?

Monks make great scouts: high Dex, and Wis for one build, and access to training in stealth and perception. Lots of mobility via speed boosts, shifting and jumping. Athletics, acrobatics and thievery are also good skills to choose. If you want to go with the Radiant Fist paragon path, which is pretty good, you'll also need training in religion by 11. You can end up short of skill slots before you've training everything you want.