PDA

View Full Version : Super Mario Bros Campaign

Corporate M
2010-06-03, 02:19 PM
Yes, I know this actually exists. But what I'm thinking the problem is with the "offical d20 version" is it's class based. Since when was Super Mario class based?

I was playing Super Mario Bros Wii and found myself attracted even more then usual to the idea of "powerups" instead of "levels". Getting through a level without items was possible, just not practical at all. All the same, it shouldn't be a simple matter of is your level high enough, but using your items to the most effective capabilities. Giving penguin suit to a total newbie would do no good, but even just a basic mushroom could do wonders for a pro...

So thats what I'm thinking a mario campaign should look like. It shouldn't use levels, but instead, just be stat and item based. (This is 3rd edition based)

Strength=Melee, no. of items you can hold in your inventory equal to score.
Dexterity=Ranged, Armor Class bonus
Constitution=HP equal to score, Fortitude save bonus
Intelligence=Skillpoints equal to score, No. of feats equal to score halved. (Rounded down)
Wisdom=Reflex save bonus, damage reduction equal to modifier (you'll need it)
Charisma=Will save bonus, Bonus lives equal to modifier.

Items:
Items can be magic weapons, (+4 vorpal sword?! hellz yeah!) mundane weapons, (troll DM gives you a lightmace) or "spells" that come in the form of "powerups". (With caster level, DCs, and number of uses differing)

Items can be self balancing in that the +4 vorpal sword may only be capable of being used twice whilest lightmace can be used fifty times. Obviously because of your low health, you'll need good items. So it's not encouraged to try and balance mundane with lots more uses.

As well, items have levels. They have levels instead of you, so you have to choose more carefully your front stat.