PDA

View Full Version : Need halp from Guitar Players

Castaras
2010-06-09, 07:43 AM
I have a nice guitar which I have had sitting gathering dust in the corner of my room for the last few years. I want to teach myself to play it. So far, I can tune it, which is a good start, but nothing else.

Any good sites to look at for help on this? Any tips for a complete beginner?

valadil
2010-06-09, 08:44 AM
Can you read tablature? It's pretty simple. You basically have 6 lines corresponding to the strings of the guitar. Numbers appear on those lines telling you which frets to hit. Tab is read from left to right. It doesn't tell you anything about timing, so you pretty much have to know the song before you begin playing.

Learn some open chords. Start with C, D, and G. Then add A, Am, E, and Em. Try F as well, but you'll probably hate it at first. A great many songs can be played with those first three chords.

I get most of my song tabs from http://ultimate-guitar.com. They have the biggest collection I've seen online.

YouTube is also surprisingly helpful for guitar lessons. It can be a little tricky to find a lesson that works for your skill level. Try searching it for intro guitar lesson. They'll show you posture and such, as well as the chords I mentioned.

Xuc Xac
2010-06-09, 09:49 AM
I think guitar.about.com and nextlevelguitar.com are both good. The first one has a nice set of beginner lessons that will take you through all the basics. Nextlevel is a paid subscription site, but they have a LOT of free material and a lot of excellent video lessons on youtube.

My main tips for beginners (i.e. things that I learned the hard way and wished I had done right the first time):