PDA

View Full Version : 3.5 new player needs help

RipperOfShirts
2010-06-19, 07:06 PM
So I'm starting a new game, and the DM has decided that everyone has a randomly selected race with a randomly selected template. Well, I got a Half-Fiend (ttp://www.d20srd.org/srd/monsters/halfFiend.htm) on top of basic human. Which is cool I guess, I'm new at the 3.5 thing (it's a non-evil game, so CN here I come) so I don't know how good/bad this is.

Anyway, it's ECL 8, giving me 4 levels to play with. I'm looking for a melee class, rolling for stats soon. Any suggestions? I'm allowed core, complete series and ToB. Would a Warblade be viable here? The class looks good to me, but again, new at this.

Dusk Eclipse
2010-06-19, 07:17 PM
.. can't you ask for a re-roll? Half fiend is a good template on gestalt or on monster, you loose too many levels to be effective.

Though yeah warblades is a great option of you want melee, though I prefer swordsage myself but generally I prefer skillful classes

Ilmryn
2010-06-19, 07:19 PM
So I'm starting a new game, and the DM has decided that everyone has a randomly selected race with a randomly selected template. Well, I got a [http://www.d20srd.org/srd/monsters/halfFiend.htm]Half-Fiend[/url] on top of basic human. Which is cool I guess, I'm new at the 3.5 thing (it's a non-evil game, so CN here I come) so I don't know how good/bad this is.

Anyway, it's ECL 8, giving me 4 levels to play with. I'm looking for a melee class, rolling for stats soon. Any suggestions? I'm allowed core, complete series and ToB. Would a Warblade be viable here? The class looks good to me, but again, new at this.