PDA

View Full Version : Warlock vs. Spellfire

Furnok
2010-06-21, 09:54 AM
If a person with Spellfire readies themself and a Warlock hits them with a EB can the Spellfire wielder capture the blast and if so how many spell levels does the Spellfire wilder get.

hamishspence
2010-06-21, 09:59 AM
I'm not sure if they can, RAW.

If not, but you think they should be able to- maybe count it as equivalent to a spell of the highest level a wizard of the same level as the warlock can cast.

So a 3rd level warlock's EB could be equivalent to a 2nd level spell, and so on, up to a 17th level warlock's EB counting as a 9th level spell.

Knaight
2010-06-21, 10:06 AM
It depends on the blast in question, the various blast modifications do note associated spell levels, so it is worth looking at those. The blast itself also has a listed level, though I can't remember the specifics.

Optimystik
2010-06-21, 10:12 AM
If Spellfire can absorb SLAs, it can absorb EB. (I'm not a Spellfire expert.)

If there is no essence, shape etc. modifying the blast, the Spellfire wielder would treat it like a 1st-level spell regardless of the blast's damage.

@ hamish: Eldritch Blast is always treated as a first-level spell unless modified, in which case it uses the highest-level modification applied to it (shape or essence.)

Knaight
2010-06-21, 10:15 AM
Alright then, just first. I was thinking that might be it, but couldn't remember.

hangedman1984
2010-06-21, 10:20 AM
An unmodified basic eldritch blast, without any essence or blast shape invocations is always equivalant to a 1st level spell (according to errata). An EB modified with an essence or blast shape invocation is considered equivalant to whatever level the invocation is.

edit: ninja'd

hamishspence
2010-06-21, 12:07 PM
I've checked spellfire- the original text in Magic of Faerun says it can "absorb spells, as if the wielder was a rod of absorption"- not mentioning SLAs

And the Rod of Absorption, can in fact absorb SLAs.